Chasing clouds across blue meadow

Digital Camera

Sometimes, as a sort of long distance teacher’s assistant, I find myself reading  paragraphs written by anonymous children I will never really meet.  But every once in awhile, one of them knocks my socks off with their tenderness of thought… little light of wisdom… or a truly wonderful way of saying something.  And I wonder – do you know just how special you are?

And so, I wrote a never-to-be-delivered letter to one of these.

For myself…because I would love to encourage him to keep on shimmering – if only I really had a way.

 And, maybe for you who need to believe just what a gift you are, too.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Little boy of the literary name,

I “met” you, just by chance – your stories in answers to questions coming across my desk.  Not really part of my assignment, but there you suddenly were… lighting up the page with words that drew me in, like a hand moving a curtain to one side, exposing a window into the boy of feeling and insight you are…telling me– this kid’s a writer!

I read you over, then over again. You made my spirit skip with such simple words.

How you opened your story honestly, brought me into the moment you wished you could take back some angry words against one you love.  How you recognized her hurt, and heard it in her voice when she had to put a deserved restriction on you as punishment.  And nothing you could say would change her mind.

I could see you shuffling on outside, zero else to do but hang out hitting a few with the only one around…

You took me into that scene, so that I could almost feel the way hours slipped by into waning light of day before you knew it.  How they enfolded you in an unexpected moment of camaraderie you had never before imagined between you.  Like sunlight stood still over you…draining away your frustration and leaving you warmed by the awe of this time- capsule moment.

Your best day ever, you said.  One you would never forget.  And then…you learned something wondrous.  That sometimes things can start out sorrowfully, even in anger – then turn into one gift followed by another.  Because she saw your heart out there in the catching and the throwing, and forgave you…extended grace that rescinded the punishment. How in the end, the greatest blessing to you was discovering the fun you’d found playing in the everyday ordinary with your little brother.

You left me…wowed.

And did it all over again in your next story.  Describing the day you and your mom shared, planting colors in the garden, laughing at nothing and at everything… enjoying the digging side by side in the earth, choosing the perfect plants together, feeling closer than ever…seeing God all around you.

As I think back on newness that falls upon my own days, I will remember you….along with the wonder of the afternoon that turned your day from bored gray to warm amber.  How your words did the same for me!  Making me see as you did… a gift can come when you least expect it.

Oh, I wish I could tell you.

Because youeleven year-old friend I can never know beyond your one page of pretty much anonymous words… are a writer!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©   Pam Depoyan

If today you are doubting yourself,

I want you to know — Someone sees the real you,

is moved by you and is cheering you on! 

.Digital Camera


photos: mine

 

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Living Letters. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Chasing clouds across blue meadow

  1. What a treasure that must have been — to discover talent (the fingerprint of God) in a child!

    • Yes… I am thinking that we often miss His fingerprint in the everyday or seemingly “insignificant moments” and as I write these “living letters” I keep asking Him to make me more aware… 🙂 Thanks for that insight, Michele!

  2. I wish he could read what you wrote to him. I know it would have been a great encouragement. I’m praying someone along the way encourages him in his writing!

  3. Eileen says:

    Dear Pam, there are people and events in life, that lift our spirits, and encourage us, and fill us with appreciation and wonder. It sounds as if this is what this child did with, you. Thank you for sharing how this innocent child lifted you, and how your mind and heart responded to this. Love, Eileen

  4. Michelle says:

    I cannot hold back the tears. Such innocence and I love how you wrote this. Book Wino favorite today.

  5. Ahhhh Pam – I love your writing and your letter to this young boy. I was drawn in by you and his story, but what struck my heart the most was at the end, when you said “Because you…eleven year-old friend I can never know beyond your one page of pretty much anonymous words… are a writer!” I got chills as I read those words and I pray someone tells this 11 year old gifted story tell/writer in person that very thing that you said, even though it can’t be you, it can be someone. Oh God encourage him to keep writing and pursuing the gift You deposited in him… Your neighbor at #WomenWithIntention … I am a few days behind on my comments. 🙂

    • Oh Pam — this is so awesome – we are actually neighbors at 2 more places from Wednesday as well.. #WHoleHeartedWednesday and #CoffeeForYourHeart .. so I got to read it all again…. I think what struck me the most, was that I want God to protect and nurture this tender and raw talented fight in the precious boy, so he can one day walk in the fullness of it. Blessings again 🙂

      • I so agree with that prayer for him, Debbie! This story is actually a couple years old, a repost, but wherever he is, I pray God sends him an encourager to minister those truths to him! Sounds like we had divine appts at all these linkups today! You bless me with your words too!

  6. Pam, I have been a teacher (now retired) for 20+ years and am always bowled over by those rare children who have a way with words. I rejoice with you at the treasure your discovered.
    Your ‘neighbor’ at Thought Provoking Thursday,
    Jody Collins

    • It is a treasure, Jody. I’ve been thinking a lot the last few weeks about a favorite high school teacher of mine who so encouraged me… and just the other day reached out to share that with her. I know you must have touched so many yourself! Blessings to you today!

  7. Lori @ Frog's Lilypad says:

    Oh my, Pam! I wish this little guy could read what you wrote, maybe one day he will. Thanks for sharing with Thankful Thursdays.

  8. Stacey says:

    The world needs more encouragers!! You should send it. 🙂

    Happy Thoughts of Home friend.

    • That would be nice, but I don’t have a way to send it… it was totally anonymous except for his first name. But hopefully he has encouragers in his life… 🙂 You are so right about the need for encouragers. Thanks, Stacey!

  9. How beautiful! I also pray that he receives the exact encouragement he needs! Thanks for sharing this at Booknificent Thursday on Mommynificent.com!
    Tina

Leave a Reply

