Have your pancake and eat it too!

Digital Camera

The way the light trips gaily through my kitchen window this Sunday morning – scampering in quick tiptoe across my purple petals –  paints joy on every surface it touches…including me.   A sort of celebratory mood.

“Pancakes!”  I suddenly crave, remembering the half-used buttermilk still in my fridge.  Not a staple I usually keep on hand.   And not a luxury menu I usually allow myself to indulge.

But…  

That 100% maple syrup I picked up a month ago is still sitting on the counter, wooing.

Mm… maybe there is a healthier version I might uncover online?

Googling “Buttermilk pancakes, healthy?,” I suddenly find myself staring into a plate of the most luscious and fluffy flapjacks, soft and pale the way I love them (never charred!) and amazingly purporting to be the ultimate in healthy.

Easy peasy directions.  Hardly any sugar or butter.  Yet the picture looks incredible.  Only one unique to pancake item I don’t have on hand – yogurt.  A quick run I needed to make anyway to Target and I could have these going within the hour.

As soon as I see the first bubbles, flip the starting cake, I simply splutter aloud… Wow.   The most delectable looking pancakes I’ve seen in a long time.  

And I know…  I am only going to be able to manage consuming two of these beauties for today (I hadn’t kept to the silver dollar size recommended in the recipe, but just regular medium rounds…still these treats are over the top gorgeous and filling!) – topped with a handful of fresh country blueberries and touch of that syrup…

Even in this once in a blue moon splurge, my heart sings of His beauty and delight.  Wells up a praise within for tiny, unexpected gifts that seem to say…just because, I love you.  (In particular to me, because I just can’t let myself have the sweets I used to enjoy any time… and asked Him for a way this day…)

And once more I marvel at this blogosphere where we can share and find the most unusual treasures at our fingertips…

The remaining batter is calling to me from the fridge this new morn…and I think, as I did flipping them yesterday… I want to share them with you.

In a flipping mood?

(I smile at those words echoing from a quirky and fun character in one of my favorite Christmas movies – Christmas in Connecticut…    🙂  )

The Ultimate Healthy Buttermilk Pancakes -- so light & fluffy! These are WAY better than any pancakes I've ever had! They don't taste healthy at all!

Then you simply MUST hop on over to Amy’s and check these out!

http://amyshealthybaking.com/blog/2015/01/18/the-ultimate-healthy-buttermilk-pancakes/

Enjoy!

🙂

P.S.  I think these would even be fabulous as a shortcake base for strawberries – a quick

and on the health side dessert!

  Perfect for a little afternoon tea! Especially for those of us trying to cut down on sugar and butter!  Yum!

I found the batter quite thick, so I did follow Amy’s tip for adding additional buttermilk…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©   Pam Depoyan

Pancake photo, courtesy of Amy  at http://amyshealthybaking.com/blog/2015/01/18/the-ultimate-healthy-buttermilk-pancakes/

Purple bouquet – my photo

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Scrumptious Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Have your pancake and eat it too!

  1. MaryLou says:

    Hi Pam, yesterday as I was cleaning up the kitchen at church and I was putting away frozen waffles and some homemade pancakes I thought about Saturday mornings when I was younger and my mom would either make homemade waffles or pancakes on Saturday morning. She would alternate so we never had either one two Saturdays in a row. Thinking back to those days makes me happy and it is fun to reminisce but then it can be bittersweet also. Thank you for sharing your beautiful picture. I like when you share pictures that you have taken and drawn also. Bye for now! 🙂

    • Thanks for sharing your heartwarming memory, MaryLou. I can picture your mom doing that, alternating to treat you guys. I’m glad this sparked that memory for you, even if bittersweet… and that you enjoyed my flower photo. I love to pick up some fresh ones now and again just to brighten the room. We have Trader Joe’s here now and they were so amazingly low priced… couldn’t resist. If you try these pancakes sometime (so, so easy), I would say to make up all the pancakes and keep them for the next day if necessary, rather than saving the batter. I found today that the buttermilk didn’t keep well in the batter overnight… hadn’t thought of that.

      I have similar memories of my mom making us pancakes or french toast every Sunday after church… 🙂

  2. diy180 says:

    Pancakes are my thing and love to make large batches to freeze some. I am so happy you shared at Dishing it and Digging it link party. We love having you. Thanks again for sharing.

    • Great idea to freeze the already made pancakes!! I will have to try that next time. I rarely make them, and it is rare that I go out for breakfast — but pancakes are always my favorite when going out. 🙂 These are hard to beat though! Thanks!

  3. pamecrement says:

    These look amazing, Pam! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I think I will try them when I return to OH!

  4. Mindy says:

    These look yummy. I have been using maple syrup ( in small amounts) as a great substitute in sweetening things. I love blueberries or strawberries as a topping – had some on my oatmeal this morning : )

    • This recipe actually has a teensy bit of syrup as sweetening too! Even more natural syrup and honey seem to wreak havoc with me at times, but much better than refined sugar. I agree.. blueberries and strawberries are my favorites too. This really is a yummy one! 🙂 My new go to for a splurge… Thanks Mindy!

  5. Gayl says:

    I made yummy buttermilk pancakes this morning! It was fun to read your post! I love the picture of the purple flowers and the plate with just the right amount of sunlight. 🙂 Just as an aside for my pancakes I soaked the flour along with the buttermilk and oil overnight, added the rest of the ingredients this morning and it made delicious fluffy pancakes. So yes, we can have our pancakes and eat them, too. 🙂 Blessings to you, Pam! I’m your neighbor at #CoffeeforYourHeart this week.

    • Thanks, Gayl! I originally bought that plate for Easter, but I love it – decided to keep it out because I think it looks kind of English cottage :), especially when I have a few fresh posies by it. Interesting tip about soaking the buttermilk,flour and oil. Thanks for sharing that! I loved this recipe too because it only has a touch of melted butter and no oil… amazingly! Pancakes in the middle of the week sound fabulous! Blessings to you too, Gayl!

  6. helloredds says:

    Yum! These pancakes look wonderful, Pam.
    Found your post today on Sitting with Friends.
    Hope you have a blessed day~
    Melanie

  7. Hi Pam,
    I had to read your post since I wrote about pancakes this week too! Loved reading this and discovering that you can still enjoy a plate of pancakes and share it with us!

  8. Ruth W. says:

    Hi Pam…that is awesome! I LOVE pancakes, and they would be great for tea. And I love your pretty teacup! Thanks so much for linking to Tuesday Cuppa Tea!
    Ruth

  9. emma francis says:

    Those pancakes look so good. I will definitely try them!

  10. A Mother of All Trades says:

    I live in CT, and I also love that movie 🙂 #SYC

  11. You are such a gifted writer, Pam! Your description of these pancakes had my mouth watering far more than the photos did. Thank you so much for sharing this simple moment with us at Grace & Truth, and for showing us how to see God’s love for us in the little gifts of grace He gives.

  12. Pancakes and pure maple syrup…yum and these look amazing! You know I have never seen Christmas in Connecticut, so I’ve put it on my list for December:)

    • Oh, it’s such a fun movie! Long been a favorite of mine. I think you will love it, Crystal! Make sure it is the original version, with Barbara Stanwyck. Funny, witty, cute, romantic… and oh, that Connecticut farmhouse! (I love quaint New England charm!) I’d love to hear your thoughts after you watch it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

