One Bestselling Author Who is Making a Difference

“Lucy, Lucy, eats stinky food that puts us all in a big, bad mood!”  How can Ralph be so mean, Lucy wonders?  Lucy is one of a kind, and Ralph loves to point that out. Lucy’s defining moment comes when Ralph truly needs her help. Because she knows what she stands for, Lucy has the courage to make the right choice. This charming story empowers children to always do the right thing and to be proud of themselves even when they are faced with someone as challenging as Ralph.

 

Something fun landed in my email a month or so ago… a Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators callout for a volunteer writer to interview bestselling picture book author Maria Dismondy.  Followed by – “Hi Pam, you were the first to respond, so the assignment is yours!”

I hadn’t heard of Ms. Dismondy at that point, but as someone who enjoys writing for children and has a few picture book story and art ideas stringing through her mind even this moment, I knew I’d love to talk stories and publication with another writer who is reaching hundreds of thousands with her witty and poignant books.

Then, wanting to get to know a bit about her before reaching out for the interview… I clicked on over to her website — and fell in love with her story!   A dynamic, young and former teacher/now writer who longs to instill compassion and empathy in her small students…creating books out of her own childhood days of being bullied.  Mm… How much she resonates with my own heart on this topic!

Says Dismondy, “In today’s society, it’s important to remind children that, although we are different on the outside, we are very much alike on the inside.”

Captivated by her bubbly, enthusiastic and engaging teaching style, I viewed many of the video links there — watched her in action as she in turn captivated young kids — and grew even more excited to write this piece of her story for the SCBWI.   Then, searching out at a local bookstore and reading this her first book (the charming Spaghetti) cinched it.

I’m happy to say she’s agreed to join me here soon for a bit more of her story and the message of her heart and books… and I can’t wait for us all to get to know her better when I post that continuing interview here!

In the meantime, I thought you’d all like to meet her today in the brief interview I wrote over at the SCBWI…  Won’t you join us there?  🙂   Then do watch for more with Maria here soon!

http://scbwimithemitten.blogspot.com/2016/08/to-self-or-not-to-self-by-pam-depoyan.html

Maria Dismondy

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©   Pam Depoyan

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Interviews. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to One Bestselling Author Who is Making a Difference

  1. Kylie says:

    I am a counselor and I love reading this book with kids! It has such a good lesson for them!

  2. Laura Thomas says:

    Thoroughly enjoyed this interview, Pam! I write for children, too, and found her advice very useful. Thanks for sharing—I’m your neighbour at #CoffeeForYourHeart 🙂

  3. Becster says:

    I love reading books with my girls so I’m always on the lookout for new ones. Thanks for sharing Maria Dismondy with us at #FridayFrivolity

  4. This book looks adorable! Can’t wait to learn more about it and the author! Thank you so much for linking up at Booknificent Thursday on Mommynificent.com this week!
    Tina

  5. Lori @ Frog's Lilypad says:

    I can’t wait to learn more about this author. Our children need good books that teach good things. Thanks for sharing with Thankful Thursdays.

Leave a Reply

