In the Rain-Scrubbed Light of Day

French Country WindowPadding in to the living room, I pushed toile curtains aside on their rings, making my way window to window, throwing up cotton blinds to the morn.

Outside, the breath of a breeze, child of the gale that stormed all night, lightly whisked treetops about the circle gazebo.  But already the air held a heavy, breathless warmth, mixed with  thin sunshine and a white smudge of cloud overhead.

Robin’s egg sky peeking here, there, offered untrustworthy hope of full sun and less humidity, though casting a lozenge of warm light on the carpet at my feet…(reminding me out of the blue, of my old sheltie, and how she loved to find such a spot of a morn, circle round and round to lay down and bask in it)… and to my astonishment, the longtime-in-coming fresh flowering geraniums were kicking up red and white striped pantalets,  as if dancing in their pot on my porch, refreshed and spurred on by the night’s rain…

O Lord, you beautify, dignify and crown my life with loving-kindness and tender mercy…You redeem my life from the pit and corruption,” I murmured, letting those words escape aloud on the air afresh.   It was the Psalm 103 verse I’d been meditating now for the last week…in answer to the Holy Spirit’s nudge… whispering like a breeze through my open window, stirring the gauzy curtains round my heart, calling me to turn my mouth to words of light.  Calling things as He has promised they are, in place of speaking out only what I see.

Mm… beautifies.   He not only makes me more and more aware of beauty round me moment to moment, somehow… (Lord, show me how)… He longs to make beauty of my life…

Dignifies.  When I feel less than, don’t think I’m making any difference in my one life, am put down or rejected… He dignifies me.  Sets me on high.  Calls me His Royal daughter and heir.

Redeems my life from the pit and corruption…   such as sickness, hopelessness, negativity, loss, lies of the enemy…

It is funny how even when we are alone, we can tend to declare useless words to a still room.  Just giving voice to thoughts that are going nowhere.  Like saying to no one there, “I wonder what so and so meant when they said– ”

But gently, He reminded me…”I’ve made you speaking beings.  To bring life with your very words…” 

How  much life was I really bringing with my words? I began wondering.  While a thought edged round the corners, imploring me to begin being more purposeful in putting His words…aloud…in my mouth.  Words that come against otherwise negatives that could easily come forward, watering mind and spirit with joyful promise. Several times a day.  Round the house.  In the car.  Out walking the neighborhood.   (I’m a bit more self conscious about doing that last one, though others often stroll by talking openly to their phones!)

And here... on this blog!

I was thinking how many of us like to choose a “word” for our year as January rolls in.  And that the EVER-SPEAKING God who creates from words and endows us to do the same does not want us limited to that ONE WORD.

So…What if we were to choose a different few words of His word each week to meditate, murmur aloud, seek His voice in, and roll around as honey on our tongues throughout those seven days?  For those who journal, to maybe even write down some insights He brings to mind and heart and spirit… and share what we “hear?”

To actively do as Ephesians 5:19 enjoins us…    Speaking to one another with psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit. Sing and make music from your heart to the Lord…”

And so I’m initiating Speaking Psalms, Hymns and Song of the Spirit here.  (Though it will open at the beginning of each week, I will link up on other days as well so you can join in any time…)  I’ll offer a verse at the end of each post for us to ruminate and chew on…aloud… each day of that week.  Then return here the following Sunday for the next week’s word.  They will only be a starting point… feel free to choose your own meditation verse as He leads!  I look forward to hearing what He’s moving in you through this each week too!

Just as I completed these words here, my phone jangled.  A woman from a ministry I give to, asked if she could pray with me.  As she did, her words became as living water showering me…crowning me with His loving-kindness and tender mercies. “See that image of His Blood redeeming and cleansing and pouring over you, head to toe,” she encouraged…

Digital CameraStepping outside to capture a closing photo for this post, I leaned over my newly transplanted hydrangea plant.  It’s been a few weeks now and I’ve been uncertain as to it’s “taking” to the rocky new ground.  Brown crinkles leafy greens.  But this morn… I pushed aside the leaves in the same way I opened my curtains earlier.  In the rain-scrubbed light of day, almost hidden, jewels are beginning.

Jewels in a crown.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Let’s share how His Words in our mouth changes our days!

Verse to Speak Aloud, Several Times a Day, Throughout This Week

(especially in those moments when circumstances are screaming the opposite!)

  • You satisfy my mouth with good so my youth is renewed. 
  • You make me like the eagle – strong, overcoming, soaring!

~ from Psalm 103: 5 (amplified)

To Ponder:

(No matter your age…) How do I see Him renewing my youth today?

In what ways is he making me strong, overcoming, soaring?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©   Pam Depoyan

Hydrangea photo, mine.

Pen and Ink Drawing, “Morning Glory” … Mine.

Ask about prints of this piece!  🙂  See more in my new French Country collection at https://pamdepoyanblog.wordpress.com (Picture It in Pen and Ink!)  (Please do not copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.  :)  )

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Speaking Psalms Hymns and Songs. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to In the Rain-Scrubbed Light of Day

  1. pamecrement says:

    Pam, your post has so much encouraged my heart today. The verse and version you chose brought a smile to my face! As I thought about the 3.5 weeks with our granddaughter and how it has taken me a bit since coming home to feel restored, I have celebrated that at 72 I was able to do what was needed without a lot of difficulty despite tiredness from the pace and stressors there. Truly He has been satisfying my mouth and renewing my youth! Thank you, my friend!

    • So glad to hear this encourages you so, Pam! And how God upheld and strengthened you in your time helping with your granddaughter’s recovery. How he is renewing your youth and satisfying your mouth! Let us speak these words to ourselves several times a day this week…especially if or when everything seems to be telling us otherwise. It’s so easy to slip into that feeling of thinking old and tired, that it is only natural…but I do believe God wants to revitalize us with His word and renewing of our youth! 🙂 That His natural is to redeem what we give to Him! 🙂 No matter our physical age… young or older… He renews us daily, keeps us strong and stronger, taking us glory to glory, as we speak out His truth over our lives…

  2. Pam,
    What a charming drawing you’ve created — I love it! The beauty of the earth — the rain, flowers and morning light — inspire me too and speak so joyfully of God to me, especially when I take walks in the evening. And I love the idea of choosing several words throughout the year instead of just one — I’m a words girl and that appeals to me! 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Valerie! I agree… there is something in the morning light coming through sheers too, isn’t there? 🙂 Yes, let us put these words of His heart in our mouths all through the year! 🙂 I’m a words girl too…

  3. Gayl says:

    Pam, what a delight to read your words today! I like your idea of meditating on different verses each week. The one you chose this week is perfect for me. Just what I needed for refreshment and a reminder that He will give me strength! Blessings to you! I’m your neighbor at #Glimpses.

  4. createwithjoy says:

    I always enjoy reading your beautiful, inspiring stories so much Pam!
    Congratulations – you are our Friend Of The Week at Friendship Friday at Create With Joy (Week 238) – have a blessed week! 🙂

  5. Hi Pam! Thanks for visiting! I’m glad you like the blue china. Here’s another link to a post I did on it with a view of the pattern mark and name: http://getcottage.blogspot.com/2016/05/the-new-blue-transferware.html

  6. “Dignifies. When I feel less than… am put down or rejected… He dignifies me. Sets me on high.” I needed to read this today. Thanks for sharing. I think I’ll meditate on that verse this week. It speaks to what I’ve been living the last few days.

  7. I read this phrase three times: Calling things as He has promised they are, in place of speaking out only what I see.

    This is faith!

    • So true, Michele! God has been showing that to me more and more lately and how He is calling us to do as Romans 4:17 says Abraham did – “(Abraham) is our father in the sight of God, in whom he believed—the God who gives life to the dead and calls into being things that were not.” That God wants us to join Him in “calling things not as they are but as He promises them to be.” We are to “give life to what seems dead” and “call as fulfilled and alive before we see!” 🙂 Yes, that is faith! Abraham joining God in calling himself the father of nations because God said so, even though it looked physically impossible at his age. Blessings to you today, Michele!

  8. I so much appreciate your encouragement here! Your words are powerful, your example more so. Thank you for offering us a glimpse into your life as you “let the word of Christ dwell in you richly.” We need to see each other living in such a God-focused, Spirit-filled, Word-centered way! I’m glad you shared this with us at Grace & Truth. 🙂

    • Thanks so much for your lovely words, Jennifer! I so appreciate your thoughts about needing to see each other living God-focused, Spirit-filled and Word-centered. It always bothers me if others just seem to read it as just happening to me and not to them somehow… I believe that God wants our stories to be testaments to Him that encourage us all to see how deeply He wants to move in our lives too… 🙂 So it is a blessing to know how this spoke to you too! 🙂

      I am a bit behind on the next post to this theme this week, but hope to have it up soon!

  9. Carol L Cook says:

    Thanks for sharing with SYC.

  10. Lori @ Frog's Lilypad says:

    Pam, this is a beautiful encouragement. Thank you for sharing with Thankful Thursdays.

Leave a Reply

