When you are considering giving up the vote

A call to hope and not giving up!

If ever we needed to humble ourselves and pray for our land, stand up and be counted, it is now…

Thank you, Lord, for our home of many blessings…

.

“I’ve been hearing it everywhere,” the Pastor began Sunday. “People proclaiming they don’t like either candidate, have good reasons to feel that way, just want to give up and not vote.  But God– what is HE saying?  Believe me – I do understand this sentiment, but now is NOT the time to give up! God is warning us, we are on a precipice in time…”

Inwardly, I nodded assent.  Sat forward a little to hear.

“What we don’t realize is that God is holding us responsible for the gifts He has given us – especially the gift of voting. And we will reap what we neglect or empower…

“‘But Pastor,’ you argue, ‘how can I choose between hateful over another?’  And I feel His compelling to warn you.  God is impressing me more and more as I’ve prayed about his leading on shepherding this church — good people are responsible in His eyes for doing nothing.  Just as they are responsible and will take on the judgement that is applied to any they align themselves with, knowing the evil stand that one represents and just sloughing it off.”     

That scary thought makes it all the more intimidating,” I thought.  “What if we align ourselves with the wrong one?” Images of Bible heroes flit through my thoughts.  Of King David, man after God’s own heart, yet a murderer and philanderer, too.  And of all of us, trying to decide between murderers and philanderers.

His next words broke through with deep resonance.  “In this election that is unlike any we have ever known, it is coming down to so much more than individual candidates who are not faultless.  We will never find people who are perfect – but the Holy Spirit is calling us to looking to Him as our leader.

“To seeking out information on what each platform stands for, and to seeking God on which one aligns with His Word. 

“This election goes far beyond who will be President, but will determine the way of our judges, the government of our children’s lives for decades to come… and that above individual candidates, is the true question — 

“Which platform’s thoughts will we allow to ultimately govern us?”

Listening, I felt as though he were shining a light on a dark corner in a deeper way.  Putting words to my wordlessness when I come up against those who are telling me they probably just won’t vote.

More than for a person, the pastor explained, we are actually voting their platform.  “Whether we believe it or not, each one has aligned themselves with a separate party platform,” he said.  “We may shrug that they don’t really follow it, but they MUST!  Whoever is elected, we as God’s people are responsible to hold them to it.

“But – how many of us are trying instead to choose as if in a popularity contest instead of really taking time to knowing those platforms?”

Suddenly, it made sense.  I thought of all the on the street interviews I’d watched this weekend, so many uninformed people just talking as inanely as I like her face, I hate his hair.

O God, I prayed… wake us up to how vital this is!

His next words compelled me to share them here with you today,

because it is like a shaft of light from out of the clouds…

“If it helps – do not think so much of choosing between two candidates, but between the platforms they stand on.  It is vital that you sit down and investigate the platforms as they are written out – contracts with the people – and compare them to what the bible says.  Becoming informed is the armor God gives us and He makes us responsible for doing so! 

“I am not telling you whom to vote for,” he continued, “but I am going to open up these platforms before you each week from now to election, then share the bible’s viewpoint and ask you to prayerfully compare…”

He chose abortion as his first key to explore, while I sat gobsmacked as he simply read the stance of Democratic Platform vs. the Republican.  I know the party I align myself with, but hearing it in such blatant black and white strikes the heart at the crucial and momentousness of this coming vote!

Tears choked him as he read these platform contract with the people statements… they blurred and starred my own eyes as I listened.  And though I don’t really talk politics on here  (or really anywhere) … I think I heard God’s whisper to my own heart.  Share this on the blog!

For this is NOT about politics.  Or about telling you whom to vote for.  It is understanding God’s leading on a gift He has given us… that He has put us in a nation, free under Him, and given us the gift of electing…  Do we want to throw that away?  And if we do, what does God say about it? 

The pastor began on page 25 of the Democratic platform.  You can read that here:    DOWNLOAD THE DEMOCRATIC PLATFORM

Then he read the Republican.  DOWNLOAD THE REPUBLICAN PLATFORM

Believe me… it is eye opening.

Then…  he compared to what God says in His Word, giving us several verses.  Reminding us to be careful before God on whom we align ourselves with – more than with a particular person  —  as far as their platform goes… 

Deuteronomy 30:19 (NIV) —  This day I call the heavens and the earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life, so that you and your children may live

Psalm 139:13-16  (NIV)– For you created my inmost being;  you knit me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.  My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.  Your eyes saw my unformed body;  all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.

Isaiah 44:2 (NIV) —  This is what the Lord says—  he who made you, who formed you in the womb,  and who will help you: Do not be afraid, Jacob, my servant, Jeshurun, whom I have chosen.

Jeremiah 1:5 (NIV)  — “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.”

Psalm 22:31 (NIV)  – They will proclaim his righteousness,  declaring to a people yet unborn:  He has done it!

Psalm 75:5-6 (NIV) — Do not lift your horns against heaven;  do not speak so defiantly.’” No one from the east or the west or from the desert can exalt themselves.

Ecclesiastes 11:5 (Amplified) — Just as you do not know the way and path of the wind or how the bones are formed in the womb of a pregnant woman, even so you do not know the activity of God who makes all things.

1 Corinthians 3:17 (Amplified) –  If anyone destroys the temple of God [corrupting it with false doctrine], God will destroy the destroyer; for the temple of God is holy (sacred), and that is what you are.

Image result for image of clouds opening from heaven and american flag

If you feel the impossibility between choosing candidates… Stop considering it a matter of personality and think of this first and foremost as an election of PLATFORM…

Do we have the right to give up the vote?  When I read these I know Heaven’s answer is a thunder-clapping, resounding, NEVER!

That’s why, I encourage us all to know the platform for which we vote!

And I would entreat those who are not in this nation – please keep us close in heart prayer as we go to this election, feel free to share this on Facebook…  for certainly, our vote has world effect.

Holy Spirit, give us Your Wisdom!  Help us not to give up…but to know and follow Your leading in all our ways!  To really understand the responsibility You gift us with… especially in bringing Your Light forward when confronted with what looks only darkness…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©   Pam Depoyan

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Prayer Corner. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to When you are considering giving up the vote

  1. Lisa says:

    This is great Pam! I like so many I know are struggling really hard with this election. Thanks for sharing this:) God Bless!

    • Thank you for letting me know this post encourages you today, Lisa. I just felt compelled to share this and I keep thinking how God is wanting to encourage us to seek His lead and not give up. 🙂 He hasn’t given up on America! 🙂

  2. Gayl says:

    Pam, this is something I had not thought of. I would have a hard time choosing based on the people running. I hadn’t really thought of actually reading the platforms for each party. Thanks for sharing the links here. I will take a look at them. Blessings! I’m your neighbor both at #Glimpses and #GiveMeGrace.

    • I felt exactly like that when I heard this message yesterday, Gayl. I hadn’t thought of it in those terms either, but the more he talked about it, the more I saw how God is in that. It makes so much sense – more than in the past – because the two platforms have truly become so distinct. And God will support those who support the tenets of His Word. That is always our yardstick, isn’t it… Blessings to you too, Gayl!

  3. I’m stopping by from “Inspire Me Monday”. No one should give their right to vote up. The way I see it, if we allow the things to continue as they have for the past 8-years then many of the issues that divide us won’t matter because America won’t be a free nation. I’m giving my vote Donald J. Trump and Mike Pence. I think they are the best candidates to pull this country back economically while protecting the rights of Christians. I very much enjoyed your post and am definitely going to share it with my social network. Thank you for your commitment and faith to Christ. God bless!

    • Thank you so much for sharing your heart on this, Cathy! I am feeling much the same way about what could be in store by letting things continue, not voting vs. protecting this country and Christian rights. Thank you for your commitment and faith too!

  4. Mary Quiroz says:

    Well done Pam!! And so important!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  5. Wow! Lots to think about! Aligning to what God says is really the key issue. It makes the decision less daunting when we look at it from that point of view.
    This is an important topic for us, we can’t just ignore it or say we aren’t voting.
    Thank you!
    Your #RaRa linkup neighbor,
    Julie

  6. Eileen says:

    I think that we must look, at, “who would Jesus vote for? He would vote for the candidate who values and upholds LIFE. Jesus would vote for the one who protects the lives of the unborn, those innocents who do not have the voice to defend themselves. If the candidate supports, life, then God will bless that candidate, and everything else in that candidate’s platform will be guided, by God, and will fall into its proper place.
    God will be pleased with that candidate, and when that candidate becomes, President, God will continue to BLESS that leader, and will show him the right way to go in all things. Praise be to God- the divine leader, of all human leaders! Thank you for presenting, this, Pam! God led you to share this! Love, Eileen

  7. Kristina says:

    I think it is awesome that your pastor is preaching on this. More pastors should be talking about it. I am just confused with the platforms. Does this mean that each platform represents what each party stands for or is it their party’s candidate who follows these platforms? Because if you apply this platform to most of the Republicans only a small percentage actually stand for this and Donald Trump is not apart of that small percentage. I didn’t read much of it actually just the preamble and he has said that the constitution should not be followed completely and can be bended. He was also prochoice not very long ago. I am not trying to say that your pastor is wrong but based off of the preamble of this Republican platform and the research and time I have put into this election, Donald Trump does not match that platform. I hope I don’t come across mean because God really has been working in my heart about this but I really think if EVERYONE and I mean EVERYONE would stop worrying about the two party system and vote on what they REALLY want, we would get a better chance for a person we could like.

    • Kristina, thank you so much for sharing your heart on this. I don’t think you are being mean. 🙂 Yes, the platforms divide into what the Democrats say they believe and “contract” with as what they will do and what the Republicans say they believe and “contract” with as what they will do. It can certainly be confusing! But listening to what this pastor read from each the difference between each of their stances was so clear cut it amazed me. It is truly black and white. One believes one way, the other believes the complete opposite. And what this pastor said is that these candidates, by aligning themselves with a particular party platform, are committing to going with that contract as laid out in their platform. And we have to hold them to it. It makes sense to me that God is calling us to stand with the platform that most aligns with the Bible. I would suggest that we read particular parts of the platforms… like he started with the abortion issue… and compare. Rather than just trying to read straight through one and then the other. Trump may not match in all he has said in past times, for example, but we will need to hold him to what the Republican platform says should he win.

      And more importantly — the platform that wins will also translate into who becomes the judges etc who will determine the way of this nation for decades. All the more reason to make sure we are voting the platform that matches the Word. I think what the pastor is saying is that God has been impressing him greatly on how important it is to look at what the party platform stands for and if it aligns with the Word. That the Lord is asking us to align with the platform that says they will do the closest to the Word…and He will move in it. Then trust God moving in this most of all. We can only make the best judgement based on His Word and those who MOST align with it. Does that help?

      We can only work with what we have knowledge of… and that is the party system and what each one of those says they stand for. A lot of what the candidates themselves say can get taken out of context in media, but what is written in their platforms is solid. I don’t think the pastor is saying either candidate is faultless or matches in what they say totally – but what he is saying is that these platforms are clear. And we will need to make them honor what they say they’ve aligned with. Thanks again for being so open… we need to talk about these things and seek God. 🙂

      • Kristina says:

        That actually makes more sense now! Thank you! When you put it in those terms I could vote for Donald trump (lol if you knew me well you would know that actually takes a lot for me to say that). This really gives me something to think about, do I want to hold onto the party because there are still a few good men such as Ted Cruz, Rand Paul, Steve King, Governor Albott (I think that’s the Texas governors name), Rick perry, Scott walker are just a few to name or do I have to let go of the party system? What will happen if Donald trump doesn’t follow through with following the republican platform? How do we keep him accountable to that? That is so unbelievably hard for me because I don’t think he will. That is where I have to let go and let God be the one in control. Thanks for the helping me understand

      • I completely understand how you are feeling about that, Kristina… so many of us feeling this way. But I think this is why we have had to deal with so much these last several years, because too many of us did not stand up last time. God will show us how to hold him to it as we stand for what aligns with His Word. Yes… the good men. But even they are not perfect. We must hold them all up in prayer and pray His Spirit moving on T. as well. Let us look to God as moving so deeply on him. It really does remind me of all those who failed so miserably in the bible… like David. If I had to vote for a man who sent a man out to be killed so he could have his wife, what would I think? BUT GOD. Let’s pray for each other to just put T. in God’s wondrous hands for such a time as this. I am thinking of the verse that promises God directs the ways and hearts of kings. Certainly He can and will do this… 🙂 Also, remembering that a no vote is actually putting an opposite platform in place. And about keeping him accountable… there is prayer first, but also we would need to be active in calling senators etc to work for the people and what the platform says on occasions where it may not be….If all of us who believe a certain way would make our voices more known, starting in the election, with God behind us, immovable force! 🙂

  8. Pingback: Creating from the fruit of our lips | Writing… Apples of Gold

  9. Lidia says:

    Your post is an eyeopener. Thanks for taking time to write it. I don’t live in your country, but I have friends and relatives who do. It will be good to share this post with them.

  10. Bev says:

    Good message! My sentiments exactly–I get frustrated hearing people say they just won’t vote. “Evil triumphs when good men do nothing.”

  11. sarahgirl3 says:

    I love that your pastor shared this! So many are scared to touch this topic (as I would be.) we can’t give up the vote!

  12. elizabethfstewart says:

    I am in hearty agreement with this post!

  13. Lori @ Frog's Lilypad says:

    YES, YES, YES!!! While I am not too happy with either one of them, there is one I will vote for over the other. As for the third party voters, they are helping to put the wrong person in office just like in the ’92 election and Ross Perot. Thank you for sharing with Thankful Thursdays.

Leave a Reply

