Creating from the fruit of our lips

Digital Camera

Speaking Psalms, Hymns and Songs… Post 2

As the winding road approached the train trestle at the village edge, the grey drear of the day had improved, casting bright bits of blue sunshine through gauzy white clouds.

I turned then into the small side street of the quaint town and stepped out into the lovely respite of hush that seems always to hover there.

Yet, that peace is made up of murmuring voices too.  The burbling of the river passing neath the disused wooden bridge, only steps beyond.  The chirp of birds flitting branch to branch overhead or running across lawns.  The gentle soughing of the breeze creaking through the rafters of the bridge and playing in treetops, lifting my hair from my shoulders.   And from a distance just round the corner, light laughter lilting over the rooftops from luncheoning cafe dwellers, settling over architecture of a century old here.  It is all blessedly unchanged, welcoming as a comforter.

As always, I’m enchanted by this diminutive white cottage beside the old stone church. Sized like a playhouse with a Victorian embellished portico, it makes me wonder – was this home long ago the vicarage to the church, just big enough for that minister?

It is not in the best repair.  The hedges are in sore need of trimming.  The yard is a mish- mosh and tangle of scraps.  Tiny fourth of July decorations, festive, if a bit out of place there in August; simple but attractive iron scrollwork chairs lining the walkway, hodgepodge.    Yet, there is a feeling of someone loving this little place…doing the best they can to pretty it up.

And standing there, camera in hand,  a story forms in me from these tiny puzzle pieces in the photo I snap.  I could envision a round cloth-covered table and chairs behind the hedge, instead of the chairs up front… set as though awaiting a guest for tea in the garden.  Cherry blossom trees framing the white of the home on either side.  I tinkered with changing the home color – maybe a pretty cottage butter-yellow.  Or perhaps just a brightly painted door instead.  But as I drew this one out, I couldn’t change the soft white color somehow.  It seemed…right.

Little White House in AdaInstead, I shaded beneath the roof line and around the portico with touches of heathery grey, as if the blossom trees cast their pink glow ever so soft upon the home, lit upon the round window in the door, danced on the path from the steps.   I added a hint of tumbled stone to that pathway, placed a few curtains in the windows, shored up the English country hedge, penned in a picket, set a couple of bluebirds winging about.  Bringing it into a fresh glory, the way a simple white flower stands out in a vase of pastel blooms.

I hope the owners are home when I stop by to gift them with a card sized print…and that it makes them smile.

Storybook cottage… like a Kincaid dream, a D.E. Stevenson home for her Miss Buncle…or a tiny cottage where Miss Beatrix Potter may have created her charming work. It reminds me of all these.  And…mm… maybe a bit of idyllic Disney too with singing bluebirds.  🙂

But more than that…today... a whispery thought comes.

“This is calling things that are not as though they were,” He seems to reveal.

The way He enjoins us in Deuteronomy 28 to choose and call forth blessing on all the work of our hands – before we see it.

To sow and reap harvest – because He set that law in motion.

To speak His Word so He can create fruit from the words in our mouths.  Bringing forth beauty out of ashes.

Because He is our Creative Father who speaks Life into being and has made us to do the same with His Spoken Word.

And then, I see it!

How in this entire scenario, the enjoying a walk along a quiet old street, the spying of a sweet English style cottage and imagining it’s story – it’s not unlike God creating fruit from our words of His Promises, especially as we declare with Him beauty and hope over something that seems drear and semi abandoned in other ways.  It’s not unlike His wanting to paint so much beauty and detail into our “stories,” lifting us out of the shabby and broken, and asking us to join Him in that by aligning our words with His…

Like Abraham calling himself “The Father of Nations” because God had promised him the fruit of that vision, when in all that looked to be “reality” it was purely impossible!

Like seeing yourself walking in God’s Word Promises when everything around you is screaming “no way that could happen!”

Like believing God could hold the heart of the King in His hands (when it seems they are far from following His Leading…  When you are considering giving up the vote) and move mountains at our say so…just because He said we could!  (And how He will move in our upcoming election in this way if we align with those standing for Truth closest to His Word, and believe for Him to…)

Image result for black and white flourishes

And so… He dropped this week’s Word into my spirit.  A Word to speak out loud throughout our days, meditate upon, seek His Heart over for specifics in our own prayers…

 

Let’s share how His Words in our mouth changes our days!

Verse to Speak Aloud, Several Times a Day, Throughout This Week

As it is written: “I have made you a father of many nations.”  He is our father in the sight of God, in whom he believed—the God who gives life to the dead and calls into being things that were not.

~ Romans  4:17

  • In Your Name O Lord, I will call things as already done as God promises — speaking life to things that appear not yet to be,  like Abraham did.

 

To Ponder:

  • What does it mean to spiritually call things as already so, things that to our physical eyes are not?
  • What if today you call yourself and those you lift up, healed and whole in Jesus’ stripes!
  • What if you declare with God that His favor surrounds you, so that you take His Glory with you wherever you go?
  • In what ways do you see things changing to fruit in your prayers and life as you speak out His Word this week?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©   Pam Depoyan

Photo, mine.

Little White House in AdaPen and Ink Drawing, “Tea in Bronson Cottage Garden” (1852 Victorian)… Mine.

* See my Christmas snow drawing of this 1870 stone church here: Churches

Ask about “Tea in Bronson Cottage Garden” for purchase – for the cottage lovers in us, or even for a storybook charm to a child’s room!   :)   See more in my new Heritage Home Portraits…An Ode to Currier & Ives collection at https://pamdepoyanblog.wordpress.com (Picture It in Pen and Ink!)  (Please do not copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.  :)  )

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Speaking Psalms Hymns and Songs. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Creating from the fruit of our lips

  1. Heather says:

    Beautiful as always Pam… it was like a game to find the bluebirds and all the new elements you added to your lovely likeness of that cottage! I admit I’m lazy and sometimes more apt to call things as they currently are… it takes work to set your mind on things above, but being in agreement with Jesus and his coming to make all things new, well that’s a blessing I need to be more mindful of. Thank you for the reminder that fruit can be brought forth out of any situation ♥

    • Thank you, Heather! I like that “game” idea… 🙂 Yes, I feel God impressing me more and more to be more mindful of this. I was reading in the Old Testament about a leper who wanted to be healed but when the prophet told him to go bathe in a water where he didn’t want or like, he balked. Not sure if he was lazy about it like we can be, but it seems like something so easy to do to align with God’s healing promise. And He reminded me of this in our own lives…speaking His Word is a promise of such healing blessing we don’t want to miss… Blessed to know this blesses you today!

  2. welcomesue says:

    Lovely drawing!

  3. Just beautiful Pam. The transformation from image to art is stunning! May we speak aloud our prayers in faith as we believe in Gods never changing promises. Thank you also for the points to ponder. They are thought provoking and inspiring! Have a wonderful weekend and may God richly bless you and yours!

  4. I love how you write, I can experience everything as if I’m there. What a talent you have in drawing- beautiful!
    “In Your Name O Lord, I will call things as already done as God promises — speaking life to things that appear not yet to be, like Abraham did.”
    Thank you for reminding me that God’s promises always come true, whether I see them to be true or not.
    Julie

    • That’s such a beautiful compliment, Julie – it’s how I hope to write! To make you feel like you are there… It’s a fine line sometimes in boring people 🙂 I love British writers and how they are so descriptive, so am trying to do that more. Yes, let us continually remind ourselves of that truth in His Promises. I am understanding so much more lately how God made us speaking beings so we would be like our Father, creating life with our words in bigger ways than we imagine! Blessings to your weekend, Julie! Thanks for blessing me with your words today!

  5. sirkkis says:

    Love your fab house painting.
    Happy PPF xx

  6. Ami Coote says:

    Pam your painting is lovely! I had such a feeling of peace as I read this. I love the reminder that because God called us that we can produce fruit from his word.

    • Isn’t that a beautiful realization? That He created us to do that with our words!

      Thank you, Ami! I just went back out to where this house is and looking up the house number online found it was built in 1852. Amazing. Seems perfect time period for the way I drew it… I’m so happy to know this endued a sense of peace to you today!

  7. Laura Thomas says:

    Beautiful words and images… such a breath of fresh air! Thanks for sharing your heart. Stopping by from #SittingAmongFriends 🙂

  8. What a lovely painting and post. Thanks for sharing on #FridayFrivolity

  9. KellyRBaker says:

    Your drawing is beautiful! You are so talented! That’s so sweet that you are going to gift them with a copy. Thanks for the reminder to call those things that be as though they were. Admittedly, I’ve been very tired and lately the list to speak life over is growing. I can’t lay down my sword no matter how wearying the battle is.

    • Thank you so much for those lovely words, Kelly. I actually did take it yesterday and got a call from the owner telling me how much she loves it, and my note to her… something more may even come from this, so that is an answer to prayer too!

      I know how you feel. I have been feeling that weariness too. But you are so right… we can’t lay down the sword. The enemy is under our feet because of Jesus, and he keeps trying to get us to give up. Greater is Jesus in us! You have the Victory living inside you! 🙂 Blessings to you, Kelly and His Gal 3:13 blessing over all that is needing His word and covering in your life!

  10. Lori @ Frog's Lilypad says:

    Love it! This is so beautiful, Pam. Just curious, how long does it take you to create a beauty like this? I can’t draw a straight line without a ruler, so I know it would take me forever to do something so beautiful. Thank you for sharing with Thankful Thursdays.

    • Thank you, Lori. I’m so glad you like this one! It varies slightly from piece to piece and by size (which is why I base my prices on the size), but this is an 11×14 which took me about 10 hours overall. That’s pretty typical for 11×14 but occasionally longer if there is a lot of pen and ink detail. I usually work only about 4 hours at a time though because I want to keep fresh 🙂 Then when it is pretty much done, I do spend time looking at it and adding final touches I suddenly see a bit more clearly. It helps me to have photos to look at as I draw – makes it go faster and easier. (I don’t think I can really draw straight lines as well as I once could, even with rulers 🙂 )

  11. Truly lovely. Such detail.

  12. elizabethfstewart says:

    What a dreamy cottage, and your drawing of it is perfection!

  13. Dayle says:

    What a thoughtful gift to give the owners of the adorable house.

  14. I loved your words and your beautiful re-envisioning of that lovely cottage. My husband and I love old homes and buildings and wondering what they were like in their heyday. Thank you for helping us to stop and see the beauty in the world around us.

    • Thank you, Donna! I am the same about old buildings… I’m always wondering and imagining of the stories they’ve seen too. 🙂 I especially love the HGTV shows where the hosts return the homes to their former glory and more… There is a lot of beauty in these little moments around us…

  15. Sherry says:

    Beautiful art drawings. Thanks for sharing at Home Sweet Home!

  16. loveyoumoredesigns says:

    What a gorgeous drawing, and I’m sure the owners were ecstatic I know I’d be! And very lovely sentiments all around. Thanks for sharing at Vintage Charm. Hope to see you there again tommorrow morning! xoKathleen Charm Bracelet Diva {At Home}

  17. Thank you for this encouragement. Thanks for linking this post up with Booknificent Thursday on Mommynificent.com!
    Tina

Leave a Reply

