Pumpkin-a-looza

The creation of a thousand forests is in one acorn.  ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Image result for free clipart of autumn leaf and acorn

The Saturday wind was blustering musically through porch chimes, whipping the hanging dogwood leaves on their branches like clothes on a wash line and ballooning sails of white clouds across gray skies, in the way white horse caps froth over the sea.  Sending them racing one upon another, shadows trailing like banners, into an unexpected opening of blue expanse, a window into sunlight — and mocking predictions of dark cloud cover throughout the day.   It was as if the morn had caught and flung wide the page of the calendar marked first day of fall.  Then decided to initiate the season with a whoop.  All this drama for what had been foretold as ordinary and gloomy (all day, the weather reporters insisted) —  it somehow lit an indefinable excitement, like a campfire catching flame and warming hands and heart.

I slid into the driver’s seat and headed for the new store around the corner for some British-style crumpets to toast, some cashews to make Chinese chicken for dinner, maybe a colorful flower or two from inviting buckets.   And there, out front by the tunnels of   apple-red store carts,  a pumpkin fantasia overflowed and spilled out and celebrated as if hailing the start to Autumn as a party and stirring up that image of little ones jumping into gold leaf piles.   Panoramic glass fronts mirrored cloud racers overhead, forming backdrop like velvety theater curtains in windows.

Digital CameraOhhh… “This’ll teach you to carry your camera!” – I chided inwardly, and decided on impulse to just dash home and back with it.   Maybe to capture an ordinary, yet not so ordinary display… an indefinable something scooping me up in it like a kite taking head to the wind.

A feeling of wondering upon unlooked for… village gaiety.

Strangers following in behind me waited of their own volition while I snapped.  I returned their smiles, nodded thanks.

Pumpkin-a-looza… the whimsical banner flounced on the wind, sparking grins all round.

Deluging all in a wave of the nostalgic charm Trader Joe’s exudes even on a nothing in particular sort of day.

Sometimes heaven’s smile comes tripping over us as brightly streaming ribbons, to dash away the gloom, sent through the creative work of another’s hands.

Mm…Even in the designing of a quaintly charming pumpkin-a-looza kickoff to fall.    🙂

Digital Camera

 Um… fantasy pumpkins?  🙂

©   Pam Depoyan

photos: mine

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Autumn Leaves. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Pumpkin-a-looza

  1. lynndmorrissey says:

    So lovely Pam. I love how you capture the spirit of autumn in sight, sound, and words. (Well, actually I hear your words like music in my head. I love this. And this truly is my utterly favorite time of year. I’ve missed it in St. Louis. Sept was sooo hot and humid. But we are finally feeling a light crispness in the air. Certainly your words put me in the mood. Come, fall, and fall on me like benediction.
    Love
    Lynni

    • Thanks, Lynni! Love that thought that it makes you hear it as music. 🙂 Wasn’t sure if this whole post wasn’t a bit too corny with those photos etc., but something in the pumpkin display just charmed me. I actually emailed this piece to my favorite high school English teacher today, just thinking it would send a smile her way and she amazed me by saying with a little polishing it might be turned into a poem in tradition of Dickenson. Love to write with a lyrical bent! I do sort of “hear” a rhythm as I write, but don’t think I know enough about meter etc to really write in poem form like you do.

      I agree…fall is my fav. May you feel that refreshing soon in St. L!

  2. Beautiful, Pam! Your prose sings a sweet hello to fall!

  3. Eileen says:

    I love your description of Fall, given as gift, to us, in your words. Your description, and pictures, of the pumpkin-filled porch, picked up my heart, and spirit, and made me “feel” Fall. I absolutely LOVED the way you got the awesome shot of the reflection of clouds, in the windows, and described them as velvety theater curtains! You do, indeed, have a way of painting pictures with your words, as well as the gift you have, of the fine art of actually drawing and painting, on paper. You are multi-talented, Pam! What wonderful, creative gifts God has given you. Thank you for sharing your gifts with us! Happy, happy, Fall! Love, Eileen

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed this, Eileen. I’ve been immersed in re-reading some favorite descriptive novels lately and I think it has made me want to write this way more and more… 🙂 There is something about fall… it does exhilarate. Happy Fall to you too!

  4. Thank you for this glorious celebration of my favorite season!

  5. Deborah says:

    You paint such a lovely picture with these words!…”Sometimes heaven’s smile comes tripping over us as brightly streaming ribbons, to dash away the gloom, sent through the creative work of another’s hands.”

  6. What a beautiful ode to fall Pam! Thank you for sharing with us on the Art of Home-Making Mondays at Strangers & Pilgrims on Earth! 🙂

  7. This makes me really excited about fall; fall is such a beautiful season. I’m so thankful the Lord made all these seasons for His glory!

  8. welcomeheart says:

    Just hit our Trader Joes on Sunday for a couple of those orange delights! (don’t you love trader joes??)

    • Yes! They just came here and so great to have them right around the corner! I’ve seen some pretty displays at other stores, but something about theirs just speaks charm to me. I didn’t even grow up where fall is so BIG, but it gives me a nostalgia feel… Thanks for sharing!

  9. jerralea says:

    I love that you went back and got your camera to celebrate the pumpkin display. This kind of makes me think of a “stop and smell the roses” kind of a moment.

    Happy Fall!

  10. Lori @ Frog's Lilypad says:

    Fantasy pumpkins… I had to look those up. Who know heirloom pumpkins would be such a big hit for carving?! You learn something new every day. I love that you went back for your camera. Every time I think I need to take one and don’t, I wish did. Thanks, Pam, for sharing with Thankful Thursdays.

    • I know… never heard of fantasy pumpkins. 🙂 Are they the “bumpy” kind? They would be hard to carve! I probably wouldn’t have if the store wasn’t so close to my house! And then it would have bugged me that I’d missed it. I think the cloudcover in the windows and lighting made it (although it really had more sun on it when I first saw it). It instantly put a post in mind so I just had to have the illustrating photos! I think I need to carry that camera… ! Thanks, Lori!

  11. So beautifully written! I enjoyed every word.

  12. Laura Thomas says:

    Love this, Pam! I adore pumpkins… i had never even seen one for real until we moved to Canada from the UK. There’s just something magical and nostalgic and fun about those orangey balls of delight! We’re celebrating Canadian Thanksgiving right now, so they come in handy for the pie thing, too! Stopping by from #WordofGodSpeak 🙂

    • I never knew that pumpkins weren’t as available in the UK, Laura! Sorry to say I have just taken them for granted. There is definitely a nostalgia and a warm glow about them. So happy they give you such delight. 🙂 I’m not a pumpkin pie lover, but I do love the flavor in cakes and breads. Happy Canadian Thanksgiving!! Thanks for sharing here!

  13. Pam, God has given you a beautiful gift for writing, in such descriptive, poetic ways. As I was reading your post, getting caught up in the word pictures, I was thinking, you should be a novelist! You capture the beauty of everything and record in written word so that we can picture in our minds eye and enjoy, as if we were there…

    Thank you so much for this breath of fresh air post.

    Blessings,

    • Thank you for those beautiful thoughts, Karen. I don’t know that I have enough ideas to write a whole novel…but I may try some short stories. I do love novelists who write descriptively and lyrically so it means a lot to know my writing touches others in that way. I’m so glad this was a breath of fresh air to you! At first, I didn’t think this post was resonating with many here… Happy fall to you!

  14. Oh I love pumpkins!! We picked a couple of $1.00 pumpkins at the farmstand the other day.

  15. Pam, I miss the change of seasons so badly this time of year. I remember them vividly, and now that I live in such a tropical part of the world, I rely on others to capture this for me. I not only love your writing, but I adore the pictures planted in my mind as I read. Thank you for taking me down my own memory lane to a sweet time of autumn. Enjoy friend!

    • Not sure where you live… I grew up in a southwestern area of the country that was mostly warm all the time, even in fall. The kind of refreshing autumn I know here now still lifts my spirit so much with all the riot of color I only dreamed of as a kid. So I can imagine the way you feel, Crystal. So glad this puts such lovely pictures in your mind and takes you down your own memory lane of the best of Autumn!

  16. Jann Olson says:

    Your descriptions take us right there with you! Don’t know what it is that makes us all adore pumpkins like we do. Every shape, size, and color brings such delight! Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

  17. You captured a beautiful fall display that just shouts out the season. I never get enough pumpkins I always want more. Your words just added more to the message of you photos. Thank you for sharing at Vintage Charm.

  18. Good morning! Just a little note to let you know that this post has been *FEATURED* today on the Art of Home-Making Mondays (at Strangers & Pilgrims on Earth) on our special pumpkin edition. Thank you for sharing with us! 🙂

Leave a Reply

