Christmas List

Digital CameraI’m making a different sort of Christmas list this season… and inviting you to join me as I jot a few toppers here…    🙂 

Humming the beautiful tune about girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes…snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes…silver white winters that turn into springs… I reflect about what makes my list of Favorite Things.

Wednesday — rrrrr,  a hectic day of running all over town, wrapping and finally getting off an out of state package, suddenly realizing I needed some pantry staples  in anticipation of a snow advisory set to cloak our world beginning the next day.  Weary and snapping at annoyances round me in late afternoon, I made one last stop…for eggs.

Image result for clipart of french market flowers

Oh, it’s hard to resist the buckets of fresh flowers at the front of that store...lovely as an outdoor florist display on a French green in spring!  Suddenly, I found myself craving…a red rose.

Only $2.  Choose one,  wisped a thought.  A tiny reminder of my joy over you…

And coming home, placing it in my white pitcher, the remembrance of this Santa plate – a gift from a mutual vintage loving friend one Christmas – popped to mind.  Rummaging in my closet, I unwrapped it from its tissue hiding place.

Now, gracing my kitchen counter, just below and katty corner to the window, the glory of that red and white soars my spirit each time I enter.

And…Four days later, the rose remains perfect!  I love how it speaks to me of His many-colored coat of wonders He brings our way, calling us to look for and find them in each day… sometimes to gift to others, sometimes like a card written just to us…

Such was the awesome vintage photo I uncovered recently when looking for Christmas drawing inspiration…  Another gift of wonder to see it appear on screen. 

For it is one of those toppers to my Christmas List — that this season, He

would make me more aware of simple wonders of His Love…

I knew only that I wanted to sketch some carolers, and for it to be of 1940 era and when I saw this one.  And, oh how it rose stories to my heart!

Three real children, looking like brothers and a sister, who might have stepped out of It’s A Wonderful Life or The Bishop’s Wife, raising eyes and voices to hymns in a snowfall…making me wonder who they were, who they grew up to be…

…Then, as I was drawing the covers on song sheets held in their hands – just trying to duplicate the shapes I saw there —  I was amazed to recognize the sweet and vintage depiction as the Holy Family aglow on the first one on the left (I’d originally thought they were of carolers). What a legacy of heart and faith this caught of a time in our history!

…  I can imagine their voices tender and light as that snow falling…  🙂 

And I’d love to know – does it speak wonder to you too?

Related image

Won’t you join me over at my Picture it in Pen and Ink Blog to see this newest in my Christmas Wonder drawings?  

https://pamdepoyanblog.wordpress.com/2016/01/11/a-little-communique-spot-2/

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©   Pam Depoyan

Photo of rose and plate, mine

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Christmas List. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas List

  1. Eileen says:

    I remember carolers coming to the door of our family home to, sing, back in the 60’s. The sound of their voices sounded soothing, and lifted us into the Christmas spirit, as the group of enthusiastic singers proceeded up the front walk to our door, and then burst into a new song, as we opened the door to greet them. Their smiles shined forth, and you could see their joy, and the love of Jesus in their faces, as they sang about the Christ child. This is one of the happiest memories I, have, of that period just proceeding, Christmas, that I so loved it! Thank you for reminding me of this, Pam! Merry, merry, Christmas to you! Love, Eileen

  2. I wish people still caroled among neighbors the way that was so natural and appreciated in days of old! I have gone caroling, but it has been received in odd ways… people turning off lights and pretending not to be home. A few times, people have come by here which is nice, but it is pretty rare. Such a beautiful memory you have of the ones who came by your home, Eileen. So glad this drawing reminds you of that! It makes me think of beautiful favorite old movies from the late 30’s and 40’s… Also, of fun Christmas specials we used to enjoy as kids, the kind they just don’t make any more, where everyone dressed for snowy scenes and Christmas card settings! I do love that now when I see snow falling here, and look out on my neighbor’s homes enfolded in falling snow! Merry Merry to you too!

Leave a Reply

