When a gift slips through your fingers

Image result for image of a small painting on an easel

I’d stopped at a local apple farm one afternoon several years ago, both for a luscious chocolate frosted doughnut fresh from their ovens and a fun browse through the art boutique in their barn, when I came upon a small but exquisite painting that simply made my heart zing.

I remember it as being only about 8×8, perched on an easel…  a softly tinted portrait of a young woman from the 40’s, a tender look that caught warm happiness upon her delicately pretty face.  And next to the painting, a faded vintage photo of the same, revealing the artist’s “model.”

Something in it spoke to me of English landscape behind her.  I think the subject may have been captured by camera in an everyday moment, standing next to a British-looking auto…and I wondered who she was.  Someone in the artist’s family?  Or a commissioned piece of someone dear to a client?  The display appeared as though the artist had simply stepped away, inviting viewers to think of the possibilities she might render from their beloved photos,  yet I didn’t see her around to ask.

But — oh!  I wanted this picture!

I checked the price.  Ugg… Not really extravagant, but for me at the time, a bit steep.  Reluctantly, I walked away.

Circled back.

Took another look.

Repeated that pattern, again and again.

Mentally going through my budget.  Trying to squeeze a way to splurge.

It reminded me of my mom…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Please join me here

to continue this story…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©   Pam Depoyan

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

