When you press a forever image to heart…

Image result for image of bunny hopping through snow

It was a springy sort of day, following a deluge of now rapidly melting snow, though not in the sense of season, but in the feel that one might click heels off the ground in a joyful burst.  That’s what the exuberant bunny seemed to dance out as it leaped from one pillowy snow mound to the next that lined yards across the way,  catching and captivating my eye with query at what in the world that swift movement  across the length of three homes was...

Standing beside my window, I watched it leap, hop and sink but a split second into the downy white puffs, then up and out speedily…  unchased by anyone or anything, except maybe a pure sense of delight.  And wondering what had brought the typically twilight only creature out into the early morning, I simply, grinned.

I let myself out the back door and into the brisk air warmed only by lozenges of sun lighting here, there upon the clear road.  Diamond pricks glistened where snow still lay and shadows glowed smoky blue.  There was no one and nothing else about, save a car or two parked at curbs.  My walking path led round the curve of the small park in the center of our homes, up and over soft undulation of road and when I reached the home fronts where I’d seen the bunny frisking, I paused to take in the arc of the sky, gray with low cloud but thatched in blue even higher still and letting bits of sunlight through.  Above the homes, I could see graceful, empty branches of trees rising, the iron tip of a church cross just beyond, as if painted there, in silhouette.

I was alone, not another soul, not a dog or a cat or a rabbit about.  Only unseen birds, punctuating the air in morning  hymns.

Cocooned as I was in the neighborhood, I had the feel of a yet stretching, enormous, airy world up and out around me, reducing me to just one more creature, not so unlike that bunny making swiftly receding tracks from its glacier to glacier.  I alone had seen it dancing…and for that moment, it had pressed a forever image that could not melt away.

Partly, I enjoyed that sense of being the only one to see, of being unseen and anonymous in the day. Spying out the otherwise unnoticed sparkles we miss in everyday, and picking them up like scalloped sea shells, to slip as treasure in my pocket.

Still, in the soft murmur of drip, drip, drip where ice now ran as freshly poured water, another musical note arose.

You give Me pure delight as I watch yours, it sang out in a rippling sort of way that seemed to caress as if with soft breeze.  Forever etched in my heart too.  And…you are never alone…

I lifted my face to the blue above and blushed in the warmth of that wonder… Love in  ever presence.  And isn’t it a thing of ever faceted beauty how He slips such remembrance into our hands, like pearls on a string…?

A gift continually sung over you and I…to ponder…in every moment. That…even when our footprints seem to disappear in the snow, there is One who etches them everlasting…just because.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©   Pam Depoyan

🙂  This incredible bunny photo:  https://www.pinterest.com/love4cats2/bunnies/

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Sunday Community Devotions. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to When you press a forever image to heart…

  1. ‘a pure sense of delight’—perfect analogy. Brought a smile.

  2. Kym Thorpe says:

    That photo is so sweet! And yes, it captures that idea of “pure delight” perfectly. Thanks for sharing that blessing.

  3. lynndmorrissey says:

    So lovely and even whimsical, Pam. Oh that cute little bunny! Such exuberance, which God has naturally built in. And I loved the rabbit trails you followed, where you could see things many who hadn’t taken the time, didn’t. I think of how nature makes His invisible attributes, visible! Bless you for always bringing joy in a world of real rancor.
    Happy New Year.
    Love
    Lynn

    • Thanks, Lynn. Isn’t that an amazing photo? I can’t imagine how the photographer caught that look.

      All this insane rancor, and close to your home too, leaves me constantly speechless. But I heard the minister who preached to the President in the morning before inauguration and he told how he was led to share about Nehemiah, similarities in how God raised him up, used him, how the Sanballalt (spelling?) came against him so violently, how God reigned in it all… And wow, I see the correlation. It gives me heart. So take heart, my friend! He is greater than all the mis-construing and unbelievable rancor…

  4. Pam, you always have such a brilliant way with words, and you paint the perfect picture with them I am always blessed and refreshed after reading your writing. Thank you for sharing today at #LMM its where I found you. 🙂

  5. Cheryl Gerou says:

    Visiting you from Testimony Tuesday. I love bunnies, and that photo is so cute. Yes, “even when our footprints disappear in the snow, there is One who etches them everlasting. ” That is so beautiful. Thanks for sharing this. May your soul be refeshed by the Everlasting One.

  6. Brenda says:

    What a beautifully poetic post, Pam. Love your calming words here. What a joy it is to have eyes to see the Lord’s hand and presence in all of creation. ((sweet blessings))

  7. MaryHill says:

    i love the quiet and beauty you capture. I can see the rabbit scampering across the snow. I enjoy the moment of peace and encouragement your provide. Thanks for linking up with us at the #LMMLinkup this week.

  8. Oh, how I love that bunny’s facial expression! I feel that way myself when I’m out in the great wide openness of outside and the beauty is just too much to hold inside!

  9. kleebanks says:

    Beautifully written! I could envision everything you described so well. The bunny is adorable! I would have one for a pet if I thought our dogs and cats would be kind to one! I do love thinking of the earth as God’s canvas to decorate with beauty.

  10. mbethany says:

    This is so beautiful Pam! Such delight to behold : ) Thank you!

  11. Dawn Boyer says:

    Pam,
    You have such a gift and a way to weave beauty in words and in art. It is a joy to just sit here with you and rest in the delight you share. Thank you for being such a special part of the #GraceMoments Community.
    Blessings,
    Dawn

  12. What a sweet reminder that He delights over us with singing, just as we delight over the creation He has made for our pleasure. Have a blessed week, Pam!

  13. Such a sublime thought, that we are a delight to Him and that He etches us into His heart and holds us forever in His hand!
    Beautifully written, as always! 🙂

  14. Jann Olson says:

    Sounds like a wonderful morning Pam. Oh how I would love to see a bunny bounding about in the snow! Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

Leave a Reply

