Today’s Valentine Notes…

white-lace-valentines“You really don’t have any idea of all the things going on around you, do you?”

~ Spencer Tracy, to another who was unaware of his presence, in the movie “A Guy Named Joe”

.

The other day, I tuned in late to a classic movie I’ve watched many times over the years.  In the scene then playing, Spencer Tracy – a supercharged training and testing pilot who considered himself invincible — had just fatally crashed his plane and found himself in “aviator’s heaven.”  He is then “sent back” as a sort of pilot’s guardian angel…  one who sits behind all the new pilots in the cockpit, whispering encouragement and wisdom into their ears, getting them through the tough moments, building character and expertise into them, charging them to live and fly LIFE with hope.

Not realizing that he can’t be seen or heard by the live people he once walked and talked with as buddies, he stands before one new pilot dumbfounded and, waving his hand close to the unseeing man’s face with no reaction, suddenly realizes just how unaware he himself had always been to heaven’s unseen help around him.   As he said those words I knew were coming, a sudden picture whispered over me… how THE Word says we are ever compassed about with God’s angels…

“You really don’t have any idea of all the things going on around you, do you?”

Spencer then rides tail in a plane with a greenhorn pilot who is suddenly frozen with fear and doubts.  The plane is about to fail, but with Spencer telling him to buck up, get hold of himself and the reins, guiding him into calm and wise handling of the craft, the pilot begins to soar and finishes his flight with renewed vigor .  Back on the ground he boasts to his buddies how he had “talked himself into that calm assurance” up there, all the while Spencer is standing behind him, shaking his head.

How often are we gliding along, unaware of the Spirit’s lead?  Or of God’s ministering and protecting angels of Psalm 91 holding us up?

This scene brought back another picture I heard a minister share recently.   She told of her newly widowed days, how much grieving was naturally a part of them.  Then one morning she woke with such immense joy in her heart that she questioned herself.  “How can I feel so uplifted when my husband is gone?”

A wondering thought wafted gently over her then, like a falling spring blossom touching her shoulder on it’s way down.  “I sent my angels to sing My songs of joy over you all through the night…”

Wow.  What an image… God sending a chorus of angels to sing continuously over one of His beloved…

You surround me with songs of deliverance and joy, said the Psalmist.

Ever since I heard that, I’ve held that image close each night as I go to bed.  That God must be sending His ministering angels to us in so many Valentine ways we have no conception of…  and I find myself asking Him to charge His angels over me, over those I am lifting to Him, to sing their Glory songs over us each.  Not just at night…but throughout the day…

And to make us more aware of all the Love Notes He has winging in and around us.

Those we can see with our eyes… and those known only to our spirit.

For even the flowers and leaves on trees and designs somehow etched into rocks on the beach bare the emblem of His Heart-shaped Love…

Image result for images of bleeding heart flowers

Lamprocapnos Spectabilis, or more commonly known as the Bleeding Heart flower.

Hmm… sounds to me like God spoke into the scientists who named this one… 🙂 — that gorgeous color and shape, a most stunningly beautiful reminder of One who gave His blood for you and for me…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Image result for images of bleeding heart flowers

Valentine Any Time Prayer:  O Lord, send your angels to surround (NAME) today with your songs of love and joy and hope!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©   Pam Depoyan

pen and ink drawing of little girl above, “You Hold My Heart” : mine.  (Please do not copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.  :)  )  

Image result for valentine heart and rose

See all my valentine designs…available for purchase
in my Valentines for Anytime  gallery  🙂 at Picture It in Pen and Ink (https://pamdepoyanblog.wordpress.com)  — NOT JUST FOR CARDS, BUT PERFECT FOR A CHILD’S ROOM AND MORE…


About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Valentines. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Today’s Valentine Notes…

  1. lynndmorrissey says:

    Pam what a beautiful Valentine with which you have bestowed your readers. Thank you so much. I love all you write, and this is exceptional. I’m considering it as a love note from God which I will tuck into my heart as I take a spiritual pilgrimage to Scotland next month. I have some fear over this kind of journey, but I know He is w/ me and sends his angels to protect as well. I will be looking for His love notes everywhere.
    Happy Valentine’s Day!
    xxoo
    Lynni

    • It always amazes me when a post that seems not that much to me really speaks to others here… but then, that is God! 🙂 I am so glad this blessed you so much, Lynn. I was actually thinking of the fears I know you have after I wrote this and hoping it would encourage you… He is going to give you so many of those valentines in beautiful, gorgeous Scotland, I know!! All the pics I’ve ever seen, and all the books I’ve read that are set there have made me envision it’s beauty! Have you ever read Liz Curtis Riggs blog? She has written a book on Scotland and her photos are extraordinary… Those fears of traveling are natural, but I just agree with you that His Ps 91 angels go before you and he is there ahead, around and behind you… all in His care! And a wonderful blessing planned for you there! Happy Valentines Day, Lynni!

  2. Beautiful drawing! And such a comforting reminder that God sends His angels to surround us and minister to our needs!
    Thank you for sharing this at Glimpses.

  3. Kym Thorpe says:

    Beautiful prayer for me and for my loved ones – thanks for sharing!

  4. Kristi Woods says:

    Beautiful drawing, Pam, and an absolutely beautiful post. You’re spiritually feeding each and every one of us that comes here to read it. So glad we’re neighboring today at #raralinkup.

  5. Pam, My husband and I love old movies (before 1950s) – and they have such quotable lines! You chose a good one! There is a lot going on around us we’re not aware of! So thankful for your reminder! Praying God’s Shalom fill your week (behind the scenes and out front, too).

  6. Beautiful words and images. Thank you!

  7. Pam,
    Your Valentine art is so beautiful (I checked them out on your other post too)! Love the photo of the flower too — you always have such lovely images here for us to enjoy!

  8. I love this post, Pam! Thank you for the reminder of all the ways the Lord surrounds us with songs of deliverance as we trust in Him. Blessings on your beautiful words and art!

    • I have been thinking of you so much, Elizabeth and meaning to sit down and write you a note … I love your news emails. Always praying those angels around you there. Thank you so much for taking time to leave me this note today. Blessings on your words and ministry too! I want to write you more soon…

  9. What a lovely and thoughtful post! Great images for me to mull over today! Thanks for sharing.

  10. Pam, your post is absolutely beautiful, and I LOVE your amazing drawing! I also love the verse you mentioned in Psalm 32; it is a lovely image of the Lord, our Protector and Deliverer surrounding us with songs of deliverance. I am so thankful that He sends Valentine’s to us through the beautiful flowers in His creation, and in His life-giving Word! Thanks for sharing your words of grace and wisdom with us!

    • Thank you, Christin! I’ve been putting all my artwork on a separate site if you ever want to browse there – pamdepoyanblog.wordpress.com. So glad you enjoyed this one! Yes, so many “valentines” out there by the Master Artist. And His beautiful Word most of all… Blessings this weekend!

  11. Megs says:

    I absolutely love to make connections with God’s creation. He teaches us so much through all of it , and each other. Happy Friday, from the Faith Filled Friday linkup!
    Megs

  12. Jann Olson says:

    This is beautiful Pam! I truly believe that there are guardian angels watching over us. We just need to take the time to enjoy the quiet and feel their whisperings in our hearts. Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

  13. I love this post! I found it so encouraging! Thank you so much for sharing this at Booknificent Thursday on Mommynificent.com this week!
    Tina

Leave a Reply

