Happy Giving of Valentines!

valentine-boy-englandSugar and butter, melting mini chocolate chips, dried cranberries… mm, these valentine shortbread aromas mingle in my kitchen like song to a dance, as brightly-colored flowers to a white pitcher vase.

Checking my napkin stash, I decide between sweet-scalloped appetizer-size with dainty cupcake design and a delicate pink floral.  Memory of a pretty heart note stationary I have wafts to mind – the perfect touch to the top of the final plate.  Finally, a pink and white and pen and ink card of friendship sealed, and I’m ready to deliver.

“Oh, I forgot this was even Valentines Day,” she bubbles when I give her the treat.  Someone else is there ahead of me with their own tissue-wrapped gift, laughing, ‘You are the popular one today!”  And it feels as though heart-shaped confetti is falling like snow blossoms round the room.   It’s been a sad year for her, a time of recovery, and today…just maybe…a few simple notes of love bring breeze of new season turning, like the old song says…

To every season, turn turn turn… 

I look at the little one in my valentine above, drawn from a vintage photo caught in time, and wonder of his story, smile at that so cheery red postal box of England.  I love the way the color stands out even on a grey day, like fall trees blaze brighter in a mist.

Whose names might be written on those tiny envelopes falling out of his British “Royal Mail” mini-truck there at his feet, with little messages of “BE MINE” tucked inside them?  Was he about to traverse up and down the neighborhood to deliver his heart treasure?

And what of the big one, he just couldn’t reach to send…

A thought whispers…

When you think your little offering just won’t reach, remember I will take your effort and lift you up and send showers of blessings…

Related image

Is someone on your mind today?  Why not “post” a surprise valentine?  By phone, by email, by hand delivery… it’s never too late to reach.

🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©   Pam Depoyan

pen and ink drawing of little boy mailer above, “Love finds a way…special delivery”: mine.  (Please do not copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.  :)  )  

See all my valentine designs…available for purchase
in my Valentines for Anytime  gallery  🙂 at Picture It in Pen and Ink (https://pamdepoyanblog.wordpress.com)  — NOT JUST FOR CARDS, BUT PERFECT FOR A CHILD’S ROOM AND MORE…

Image result for vintage valentines

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Valentines. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Happy Giving of Valentines!

  1. lynndmorrissey says:

    Pam, such a beautiful Valentine today for all your readers. Frankly, every day is Valentine’s w/ you…always sending loving surprises to us from the Father. I love your drawing (note how I’m always LOVING everything you write and draw. You have *me* Valentine-ing! 🙂 ) I can’t recall if they still have these red post boxes in England. You’ll have to ask Shelly. I do know their red phone booths are becoming obsolete. Ah, technology. But no technology will replace the thoughtfully penned note or the hand-delivered surprise, such as you gave this dear lady. I know you just made her Valentine’s Day, as you make ours!
    Love
    Lynni
    Happy Valentine’s Day!

    • I still see the red post office boxes in British shows, but don’t know either. I sent this one to Shelly and commented on loving the red box, but she didn’t comment on the boxes in England, so don’t know if they still have them. I hope they do! So unique and cheery. Our blue is nice, but blends in more. I was just thinking how I love that they still have the red phone booths even with cell phones nowadays, the red double decker buses, but maybe they don’t. Sad… I love all that stuff. Thanks, Lynn… happy valentines to you too!

  2. lynndmorrissey says:

    They do have the buses! And as far as I could tell some “token” phone booths, meaning a novelty of nostalgia… not tokens you put in a slot. I just wasn’t paying att’n to the boxes though. Likely you could easily find out in a Google search. But regardless, you’ve captured it beautifully here!

  3. hopeful50 says:

    I love the graphic. Love it! Visiting from Holley’s today!

  4. Gayl says:

    Pam, such a delightful post and wonderful drawing! Blessings to you! I’m your neighbor at #ThoughtProvokingThursday.

  5. Jann Olson says:

    Beautiful sketch and beautiful story!! Thanks for sharing them with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

Leave a Reply

