Planned Splendor

No longer will they call you Deserted,
    or name your land Desolate.
But you will be called Hephzibah,
    and your land Beulah;
for the Lord will take delight in you…

~ Isaiah 62:4

palmer-house-side-view

Sometimes, we…like a heritage home that has weathered many a storm, felt battered and deserted…need the restorative, loving, detail-oriented Hand of the Master Refurbisher to remind us…

He calls us Beulah, the one He takes delight in…

As I recently sketched this gorgeous 1871 historic home located in Napa Valley, California – read of the wonderful restoration that has returned it to it’s glory there – I thought of God taking us and making us His Masterpiece.  Lovingly bringing to life all the original details He had planned from the beginning…shining His Glory in residence from the windows of our soul, if we allow Him…

Then, this fun song in Disney’s Summer Magic , written by the wonderful Sherman Brothers (of Mary Poppins’ and other great soundtracks) and based on the Lord’s lovely words in Isaiah 62:4 kept playing in my mind…

Beautiful Beulah

 Land of promise, bounteous
This is beautiful, this is beautiful Beulah
(in the rocky state of Maine)
Land of plenty, meant for us
This is beautiful, this is beautiful Beulah

Within our reaches there
Grapes big as peaches there
The cows and bees and busy
Who needs any money in the land of milk and honey
Sweet apple trees abound
Wild cherries all around
Berries on the vine, rambling rose entwine
Place so nice, it’s a paradise

Beulah land so beautiful
Let’s set forth for it
Let’s go north on that train
To beautiful Beulah land, beautiful Beulah Maine

(Listen to it here:  Beautiful Beulah – Walt Disney’s Summer Magic 1963 – YouTube)

.

And I knew... the title I would put to this home portrait… “Beulah Land…”

St Patricks Day Shamrocks Decor PNG Clipart

.

To see another sketch view of this home and a few other pieces, won’t you join me in the remainder of this post over here ?

.

.

.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©   Pam Depoyan

“Beulah Land – II” home portrait above: mine.  (Please do not copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.  :)  )   Available in  my   Heritage Home Portraits… gallery at Picture it in Pen and Ink…

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Lenten Vespers. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Planned Splendor

  1. Eileen says:

    I love the Beulah Land song. Thank you for sharing it with us. I loved hearing, it, in the Disney clip.
    Haley Mills was always one of my favorite female stars, when I was growing up. She always brought so much joy, and life, to a film. She was always so wholesome. Something we really need in this age, and in this world. Also, my family came from Maine, and most of my relatives live, there, so it was so nice that it was mentioned in the song. When I visited Maine, through many trips over the years, I saw so much beauty in nature. There were beautiful lakes, and forests of pine, and at the beach along the coast of Maine, ocean waves would come crashing, in, and would meet dark rocks right next to a stately light house. God was indeed present in nature, in Maine, and I treasure the fact that my roots are, there, even though I live in another state. Wherever we live, whatever state, or Country, we can experience the awesomeness of God in nature. And in Heaven, with God, it will be even more awesome, as we will live forever in our eternal Beulah land! Pam, thank you for reminding us of, this, and thank you for the beautiful sketch of the Napa Valley historic home that you titled Beulah Land! I LOVE it, and your precious talent! God bless! – Eileen

    • After that song was so in my mind, I was really wanting to see that movie again and found it at Barnes and Noble for very reasonable price this week! You would love the whole movie, Eileen… I agree about Haley Mills’ movies! And I still love them today! Summer Magic is a really fun one… all about a nearly 1900’s family who has lost their father and means of living and thru a series of sort of “miracles” ends up living in Maine in a little town called Beulah. Not sure if it really existed, but the land of beautiful Maine is a feature. And the fun Victorian house they live in. Lots of fun music in it too. So maybe you can see it soon! 🙂 Would love to go to Maine someday… a lot of the same beauty here where I live too. Heaven’s Beulah land is beyond our imagination… 🙂 but what God has given us here in nature’s glory certainly is a glimpse! Thanks for all you shared, Eileen. So glad you enjoyed this drawing too… more views on my other site…

  2. Philip Weighner says:

    This is positively beautiful Pam….is it a B and B now? Would be so fun for you and J to spend a night there! Loved your words as well. Hope all is well. me

  3. Cheryl Gerou says:

    Visiting from Ra Ra Link Up. How fun. It was great to listen to that song. Thanks so much for sharing this post and the amazing sketches! May your soul be refreshed as you create beauty to share.

  4. The creative process is so inspiring, isn’t, especially the inspiration and imagination it generates in others, thus perpetuating itself. Thank you for including us at #LMM in your process.

  5. oh my gosh I love your sketches and remember visiting before ..what a treat!! what a beautiful song..you share such beauty and gifts from God. My father is an artist so I really appreciate your talent! What a gorgeous home in Napa Valey..such stunning detail!! Visiting from #raralinkup today!

  6. Brandi Raae says:

    What a beautiful sketch!! I wish I had that talent because I NEED it for illustrating my second children’s book. 😉 Thanks for sharing at Literacy Musing Mondays!

Leave a Reply

