A Table Set Before Us

What’s the best thing in the world?
June-rose, by May-dew impearled;
Sweet south-wind, that means no rain;
Truth, not cruel to a friend;
Pleasure, not in haste to end;
Beauty, not self-decked and curled
Till its pride is over-plain;
Love, when, so, you’re loved again.
What’s the best thing in the world?
–Something out of it, I think.

~ Elizabeth Barrett Browning

June rose

.

Wouldn’t it be fun if we could just imagine a place and be there? Β 

Wake to an indigo and gold morning rolling in from the sea along Italy’s Amalfi coast?

 

 

 

Breathe in the flower-shop glory set out by neighbors on a sunlit piazza in Positano… letting it linger long and lovely over us, like a breeze through a citrus grove…

 

 

 

Maybe wander around a peaceful part of Assisi, on such a floral-scented spring day…

 

 

 

 

If we could, maybe we’d stop and share hearts over lunch beneath a magenta umbrella arbor, much like this one…

Ponder with Elizabeth Browning what makes up the best and most refreshing and treasured moments in life…Β 

Bless the Lord together for leading us along paths of Hissomething out of this world – delights, setting a table of His Glory before us – in the midst of mockers on every side.

Turning our hearts from unworthy news to all that is lovely…worthy of praise…excellent… and beholding of light.

 

I’ve never been to Italy myself, but there is something in pictures that just whisks us across the Mediterranean, isn’t there?Β  πŸ™‚

Do these remind you today of a special place you’ve been,

Β  enjoy returning to in memory,

or imagine of journeys to come?

I’d love to hear of them…

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Β© Pam Depoyan

Each of these drawings is from my newest “gallery” at Picture it in Pen and Ink… more being added each day.Β  Stop in and browse here – European and UK Landscapes, Street Scenes (Full Pastel Color) – to view more or purchase a print!

(Please do not copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.Β  :)

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to A Table Set Before Us

  1. Karen says:

    The pictures remind me a little of Carmel, California. We went on a family trip there and it was wonderful! Beautiful flowers everywhere. And yes, it was (and is) great to take a rest from ‘unworthy news’ and turn it to that which is timeless.

    • I grew up going to Carmel, so I know what you mean about the beautiful flowers! (I recently posted my drawing of a Carmel cottage from the 20’s on my art blog too). The pink arbor one I drew (above) reminds me of bougainvillea there in Carmel too… Thanks for sharing that Karen…

  2. Katie says:

    Pam,
    I haven’t been to Italy either, but the first picture reminds me of somewhere I’ve seen in New England (maybe along the Hudson River – ?) The second one looks like some images I’ve seen of Charleston, SC:) The third makes me think of London, with the ivy covered wall. The last one reminds me of Florida, where my husband and I saw bougainvillea in Ft. Lauderdale. They are all beautiful and make me want to be outside:) Thank you for sharing the EBB poem and these lovely and cheery scenes. You have a wonderful ability with a pen and watercolor!
    (the photo under the poem would make an awesome jigsaw puzzle!)
    Gratefully,
    Katie

    • Thanks so much, Katie for sharing all your thoughts on these! I mostly draw in pen and ink and pencil these days, so thought I’d try some pastels and have been having fun with these scenes from Italy. I actually did just draw one of a London house and post it with these too… I was reading a novel I picked up at the library the last few days and that lovely little EBB poem was in it – thought it would be fun to share here today. So glad these cheer you and make you want to be outside too! πŸ™‚ A friend told me they made her think of Rick Steves and his European tours…and since I’ve never been there, that means a lot to know these stir that feeling! Somehow they are stirring that in me too…

      Oh, and I love that pretty garden photo of “June roses” under the poem too… not mine, just found it on google to use here.

  3. Eileen Libbey says:

    I like the Browning poem. So full of truth. Thanks for sharing. Also love your picturesque scenes of Italy. So lovely. You bring some beautiful things to our day, through words and art work. I know they touch my heart, and lift me up! Thanks!

    • Thanks, Eileen! Isn’t it amazing how simply but beautifully she caught that truth in those few words! I came across that poem in a novel the other day and really liked it too! Glad you liked it… and that these drawings bring beauty to your day. Ever since I saw some postcards that were drawings of Italy, I’ve been wanting to try my hand at something like these… πŸ™‚

  4. Beautiful artwork. I can’t think of a place that reminds me of somewhere so lovely, but I sure would like to go there, wherever that is.

  5. mareedee2016 says:

    I like that idea of imagining a place you would like to go. When my kids were little, we would do that at bedtime. We pretended we were on a magic carpet traveling around. So for right now, I would love to be in Italy too, walking the streets, feeling the sun, and enjoying the beauty all around me.

  6. Susan Shipe says:

    Visiting from Crystal T’s today and glad we were neighbors. It is so peaceful here. Gorgeous!

  7. Such a beautiful post. I love the paintings! Coming over was a great blessing in my day. Following you at Deb’s today. Thank yu!

  8. mbethany says:

    The poem and paintings are beautiful! I’d love to visit Italy too.

  9. Oh yes, I would love to just imagine a place and be there! Although the journey to get there is often fun too. πŸ™‚

  10. Linda K says:

    love the poem and your beautiful paintings Pam. I have been to Italy but not the Amalfi coast-all of it is beautiful I think. Happy PPF!

  11. What a beautiful poem and lovely paintings. I feel very much like I’d like to visit them…

  12. Marie-OR says:

    Really beautiful artwork…you have a charming style.

  13. lynndmorrissey says:

    This is so lovely Pam. As always your words and your watercolors capture beauty and cultivate the imagination. I would love to go to Italy, as would Sheridan. She is so interested in the art there. And I? The art, and all the beauty and graceful way of living which again you capture always on your blog. Thank you for sharing such beautiful breathing space in a world filled w/ strife and discord. how we need it.
    Love
    Lynni

    • Thanks, Lynn. I thought you might enjoy that bit of EBB poetry! I’d love to go to Italy too. England, Scotland etc have always topped my list, but now I’m really loving what I see of Italy and France on shows like R. Steves and in movies… Drawing these pastels from photos of Italy ignites that too. πŸ™‚ They do seem to love COLOR over there! I agree, the art, the beauty and graceful living… the dolce vita. I was watching a tenor on PBS the other night in Turin – never heard of him before, but great voice and enjoyable hearing how he’s adopted Italy as his second home. Yes, let us try to keep our hearts centered on all that is lovely and hopeful… Thanks for sharing as always!

      • lynndmorrissey says:

        Yes, I’d meant to say too that I love EBB, and oops… pastels, not watercolors! You sound Italy-bound. And I agree: I love the British Isles (could live there), but God’s entire creation is glorious. So much to see and do!

      • Well… in dreams anyway. πŸ™‚ Traveling is not really in my thoughts at the moment. Yes, His creations and the ways He has inspired all the beautiful architecture over the centuries IS glorious… We are blessed by seeing the world on film even when we can’t get there…

  14. All of these are beautiful and detailed. They remind me of places in Europe.

  15. Sherry says:

    This is a beautiful post. I love FL and Hawaii. My escapes will always be tropical. Thanks for sharing at Home Sweet Home!

  16. Jann Olson says:

    Simply gorgeous Pam! Each and every one made me want to just hop into it! Thank for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    • Thanks, Jann! I’m so glad to know they make you feel that way too! πŸ™‚ I feel as though I’m traveling to these gorgeous spots a bit through drawing these myself… Just added a couple of England sites to this gallery (on my art blog) that make me feel that too…

  17. Yes. It would be nice to just imagine a place and suddenly be there, without needing to travel. The pen & ink (and watercolor?) artwork is quite beautiful. It makes me feel more peaceful just to read the Browning poem and look at the pictures. Thanks.

    • Thanks, Carol… These are all pastel with a touch of pen and ink in a couple of them, but I agree that the result looks like watercolor. I love that because I have never gotten the hang of painting in actual watercolor. πŸ™‚ So glad they make you feel peaceful!

  18. All of this extraordinary artwork took me back to the wine country of France, where I was born. You are so inspiring Pam!

    • Wow, Crystal… how lovely. Thanks for sharing that. I have been drawing some England pictures for this section of my art blog (the link referenced above) lately, but France is my next thought – I want to draw the countryside of Provence etc. Is that the wine country? Found some beautiful photos of the lavender fields there… Thank you!

Leave a Reply

