Blue Skies in the Morning

Battery Point Lighthouse, Crescent City, California

 

Softly, at your morning pillow, He bids you, “Come.”

You feel, more than hear the call to a freshly-crafted story unfolding in the dawn.  To a small, leather-bound volume that seems to be laying open at your bedside table.

In your half-dreaming eye, you watch the chapters ruffling as if to a breeze, and — as you stir – turning to a new page in the book of you.   A beautiful voice is reading.  Words you can’t quite catch, yet… they swing wide windows within you and dance airily across your spirit.

Look…and…listen…  are the words that caress you into this new day… lingering like gentle fingertips on your brow.

Uncover the illustrations, notice the sounds, embrace the wonder written just for you…

Blue skies in the morning… gulls winging and wheeling and skimming over silver star-lit waters.

Creating new songs welling within you to their joyously raucous cries…

And later, just one song, on crescendo … rising within you to unexpected showers in the afternoon – riding upon mounds of whipped cream clouds, sent like tall ships on billowing gray waves, bent into the wind, racing adventurously overhead.  To warmly shared umbrellas, leaning you into majesty and grace and luminous power…

and a story traced in sure promise and Victory…

You light my day with your radiant glory, O Lord!

© Pam Depoyan

Lighthouse drawings mine.  Stop in and browse more here – –Lighthouses and Other Landmarks We Love to purchase a print!

(Please do not copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.  :)

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Wonder Moments. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Blue Skies in the Morning

  1. Eileen says:

    I love lighthouses. I remember visiting the Cape Elizabeth lighthouse, in Portand, Maine, my mother’s hometown, in Summers past. The lighthouse, as I looked up at it, appeared stately, and it appeared to have it’s own strength. I could imagine it guiding many ships and boats to shore,, in the darkness of night, with it’s bright piercing light, bringing people to safety. And I know that Jesus, who IS the light, will also guide us, always, to His shore of safety, and comfort, and will always protect us, seeing us through all the storms of life. Dear Jesus, help those who are facing, now, the onslaught of the many hurricanes in the Carribean, Florida, and into Georgia, and South Carolina. Help those who are recovering in Texas. May you shelter them Jesus, in your arms, and may they all come to know you, and to love you. May they seek safe haven in you. In Jesus’ name we pray. Amen.

    • I have always loved them too for many of the reasons you mention, Eileen. I was just looking at some more photos of lighthouses to draw and loved one I found in Maine! Not sure if it was the same one you saw, but it was beautiful. Thanks too for sharing those beautiful prayers for all the hurricane victims. Praying that this newest one dissipates and does not hit as devastatingly… Yes, May God surround these areas with His protection.

  2. MaryLou Pettaway says:

    Hi Pam, that is so wonderful how our lighthouse and the pictures that you drew of it inspired you to write these beautiful words. I love our lighthouse and try to visit it as much as I possibly can especially early in the morning. Because of the tides going in and out sometimes it is an island and it is surrounded by our beautiful ocean and is so beautiful. 🙂

    • Wow, I didn’t imagine it as turning into an island depending on the tides. It looks like such a beautiful place to walk! That hill of flowers is incredible. I love the sound of gulls in the air and wanted to include those too… it was fun to draw. Glad these words made sense and resonated to you. 🙂 Thanks, Marylou!

  3. Barbie says:

    So very beautiful!

  4. elizabethfstewart says:

    I love this so much! Thank you!

  5. There is something so uplifting about these lighthouse images. Thanks for sharing!

  6. lynndmorrissey says:

    Pam! This is so lovely, as is all you write and illustrate. (Oh I wish I could draw. Sigh . . . ) This resonates on several levels, because I do think of my life as a book that God and I write a chapter at a time (one reason I love journaling), and also because the sea and island view remind me of Iona. I’d gone to our cabin last week (and thank you for your kind wish about that… can’t recall how you knew I was going), and I was continuing to gather all my journal and notetaking scribbles into one computer document. It meant so much to do this, bringing back all the sights and sounds, the blustery breezes, the daffodils, and the rainbows everywhere! Pam thank you for the internet respite offer and the book of your own that you write here.
    Love
    Lynni

    • Thanks, Lynni. I spent some time praying about the post and words to put with this drawing before sitting down to write, and this is what came forth. 🙂 It is amazing to think of Heaven holding the books of every life, isn’t it? I love what you said about journaling being like you and God writing a chapter at a time. Actually, you mentioned that you had gone there when you said you had just come home, so I didn’t know ahead of time about your being at your special place 🙂 You sound like Wordsworth… blustery breezes, daffodils and rainbows! Love his daffodil poem. Are you planning another guest post somewhere? Blessed week to you!

      • lynndmorrissey says:

        Oh yes, Wordsworth. And on one of our trips to England’s Lake District, we visited his Dove Cottage. So special. I did post on journaling today in The Consilium facebook page. Not planning a guest post currently. Those are usually invitational. Thanks for asking.
        L.

      • Love that, Dove Cottage. Must be so cool to see in person … I think I saw a bit of it the other night on some BBC special, but not sure what I was watching.

  7. Beautiful words accompanied by beautiful images!

  8. Robinality says:

    Amen! Beautiful words and beautiful drawings. Thank you for sharing!

  9. Connie says:

    This was so good I love the Light houses, I have never seen one in person but I have always loved them and hope someday to actually see one.
    Thanks so much for sharing at LMML
    Have a great day
    Connie

Leave a Reply

