From 30 – 90, how to revitalize your young-at-heart spirit…

Often when I look through photos as ideas to draw, there are those that just make me smile… like the one that inspired this little gem.

Who is this middle-aged, bowler-hatted, suit-clad gent riding so elegantly but incongruously on cycle?  Maybe a Mr. Chips professor on his way to class in what appears to be a school or college, muted in the background?  There is a back story here…and the writer and artist in me wishes I could fully read it.  I’m grateful the unknown photographer caught this lovely tree lit lane and invited me into his scene across the pond.  I’d never have delighted in recreating in sketch, reveled in such dappled light as though I were there in person otherwise… this framed story moment.

It makes me wonder, in this stressed and work-worn world, what makes this man appear so free and young at heart?  How can we revitalize, rejuvenate ourselves daily?

Could it be as simple as training our eyes to really see

the interplay of light and shadow,

take note of The Artist’s brush strokes, as it were?

This morning, steps away from the door of a local print and business store, I suddenly heard the even quicker footfall of someone coming up behind — someone apparently bent on beating me through.  An urge to speed up my already fast walking, get there first, came over me  (for if she were going to the print center as I was, and got there first, I might have to wait a long time).  But envisioning a not to0 pretty collision, I acquiesced with a semi-loud sigh and let the woman now in front of me edge inches ahead.

Hm.  She didn’t turn or even stop to hold the door open for me, on top of her as she must know I was.

That’s when I really took notice of her.  “I think that’s my good neighbor,” I suddenly realized, in shock.   “Yes… it is!  And she didn’t even recognize me as she pushed past!”    (A twinge of my own guilt at how I’d almost tried to outrun her echoed back.)   Not wanting to embarrass,  knowing how easy it is to be sort of myopic as we move about in the world,  I simply went on in behind her without speaking…

Still, it gave me pause.   

How much do we miss every day because we are in some inexplicable rush, or time and care-worn?   

Are we not meant to see so much more than we do?  Do we simply pass by with eyes unseeing as God sets a table before us?

As I sketch more and more lately, I find myself… looking for the luminous. 

That’s why this scene tugged at me immediately – a quiet, sundappled portrait of love between an elderly man and his collie, out for a stroll in an English wood.  He reminds me of the actor who played Santa Claus in Miracle on 34th Street, the same elderly charmer as a character in classic Lassie films of the ’40’s.  But he isn’t.  Just an anonymous man caught forever on this radiant path who – cane and stooped-stance aside — somehow resonates young at heart to me.

I’m struck by this thought — I think there’s a photographer, artist, writer, wordsinger born into each of us, meant to notice such scenes, imprint them on our souls, trace the secret messages within   Maybe not always with a physical camera, a paintbrush or lines on a paper…though it may be.  But more with a spiritual hunger for uncovering and somehow holding close the shining bits of majesty and story, hidden in plain sight…but seemingly so elusive.

For it is those “bits” that limn God’s Presence in deeper lines, draw us closer to the heart of Love and ring within us the sound of a child’s carefree laughter once again — like cottony white clouds sailing light and shadow over our heads and inviting us to soar.

As little ones we knew it as wonder.  

The way the light shimmers and dances through the leaves to set this moment between man and dog in an almost movie director glow…  the warmth of the man’s hand on his collie’s head.  The adoring uplift of the animal’s eyes to master… the simple stage of an unpolished and somewhat wild glen…

Only, being but babes just beginning life, our understanding was also immature, and as such, unable to fully unfold the marvel.  Then.

What of now?

What if we take those Psalm-selah moments and look for the luminous?  Like detectives, questing for clues…

Search expectantly for hidden treasures in peaceful moments softened in pools of unexpected reflections…

Remember and cherish the stories of us, family, friends over generations…

Take time to listen to a seashell story or two…

 

Revel in the gleam of clean, pure white…in clouds, in sea foam, in sweet girl dresses…

Make time for cozy… Steep in the Spirit’s fresh breezes…

And as we do, let us share the wonder of such discoveries,

speak of them to one another

to build each other up

in looking for the luminous

and revitalizing a youthful spirit!

And…banish forever… words in our own mouths, calling ourselves old.

bird yellow

[He] satisfieth thy mouth with good things;

so that thy youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

Psalm 103:5, King James

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

© Pam Depoyan

A summer’s worth of Pen and Ink and Pencil drawings, mine.

ONE OF THESE DRAWINGS ESPECIALLY RESONATE “LUMINOUS” TO YOU🙂

Stop in and browse more here at my art blog, pamdepoyanblog.wordpress.com –

Beach Themes, and Etching the Young-at-Heart

to purchase a print!

(Please do not copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.  :)

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Wonder Moments. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to From 30 – 90, how to revitalize your young-at-heart spirit…

  1. Beautiful in thought and in sketches! As I read the Lord brought to mind, “I was young and now I am old, yet I have never seen the righteous forsaken or their children begging bread”
    (Psalm 37:25) & it was a blessed reminder indeed!

  2. Kym Thorpe says:

    Beautiful sketches! And the moments of captured beauty that inspired them must be lovely as well. This was very fitting for me to read this morning, because as I was driving to work today, I was struck by just how beautiful the rolling farmland around my home is. And I drive by it every day – but TODAY I really took notice of it and praised and thanked God for it during the rest of my drive.

    Visiting today from Glimpses, and I have seen a glimpse of beauty here. 🙂

    • Isn’t that amazing how we can do that as if unseeing all the time, Kym, and then suddenly be swept over by its beauty? Reminds me of how the Word we’ve read many times can suddenly take on clarity and speak directly to our hearts as never before too. 🙂 I’m so glad to know you enjoy these drawings too and that you “saw a glimpse of beauty here!” Thank you for sharing that!

  3. mareedee2016 says:

    You created in me a desire to pause right here at this moment. Thank you! Your sketches are beautiful.

  4. Alyson says:

    Wow, Pam! I am so glad to find your website! Your artwork is exquisite! God has given you a gift to capture the joys of life! As you said … the shining bits of His majesty and story, hidden in plain sight.

    • Thank you so much, Alyson. Welcome! I used to draw more when I was younger, but with work and life it kind of slipped by the wayside for many years. I didn’t even think I could still draw, but God seems to be enhancing more than what I ever could do before (amazing me)… So glad these capture joys of life for you because that is what I hope and pray they do. 🙂

      This is mostly my writing blog, but if you’d like to see more of my artwork, I have put them all over at pamdepoyanblog.wordpress.com (organized by categories listed on the right side of that blog). Blessings on your week!

  5. Lovely artwork. There is something we miss about those blissful days in the old movies. I do see the man on the bicycle as a Mr. Chips,and I think you mean Edmund Gwynn, I believe that;s the man from 34th St., I see that too, in the Lassie picture, it’s the pipe.

    • Thank you! I can tell you are a classic movie fan as I am 🙂 Yes, Edmund Gwynn! I’m glad you recognized that in the drawing too. Mr. Chips was the first thing I thought of when I saw that image… It was just on TCM again recently…

      • It is one of my favorites, I love Greer Garson, I have old movies stars on my Pinterest board. God bless, love your art, old movies are a good inspiration.

      • Oh, me too. Random Harvest is one of my most favorites of hers! All the ones with Walter Pidgeon and her too…

        I just found a wonderful image of Margaret O’Brien for a Christmas drawing that I just posted on my art blog – yes, those movies inspire me too. 🙂 Although, I don’t recognize the movie this one is from…

        Thank you for the blessing on my art… 🙂

  6. Kim Harms says:

    Your sketches are gorgeous. I especially love the elderly couple walking beneath the blossoms of the trees. And you are so right that we too often rush through and miss what God has for us.

  7. Thanks for your lovely words, Kim! I wasn’t sure that one came across as well here as it does in person, so I am glad you like that one! I loved the light shining behind them in those trees… and the dappled sun on their clothes. One of those easily missed things when we are in the midst of them… 🙂

  8. The sketches are so beautiful, Pam! Each picture has me wanting to learn more. You have a gift!
    What a great reminder to slow down and really notice what’s happening around me.
    Visiting from #HeartEncouragement

  9. Pingback: 5 Verses to Pray When You Want to be Thankful and Happy - Counting My Blessings

  10. sarahgirl3 says:

    Those really are luminous sketches! I love them all!

  11. I always love your beautiful drawings!

  12. Jann Olson says:

    Beautiful drawings! Yes, it’s the every day things that are so enjoyable!! Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

  13. Pam, such a lovely post. I’ve been under the weather, so I’m in need of a post like this which does indeed uplift and revitalize. Funny. I can remember Mother telling me when I was sick and feverish, “Your eyes are large and luminous.” Just the thought of luminosity made me feel better somehow. I’ve been thinking a lot about wordsinging lately (that very word), and love that you are a wordsinger. I am too, and try to find this quality in my writing and outlook. I love that you always look for beauty shining through in all of life. This post is so rich. So much to catch my eye. The gentleman on the bike, but in a business suit, somehow reminded me of George Banks in Mary Poppins. He was so stayed, but he finally loosened up and had fun, business suit and all. And ah, Edmund Gwenn. What a marvelous actor, and of course, his interpretation of Kris Kringle is legendary. Anyway, need to rest a bit, but I will do so uplifted and satisfied. Thank you for spreading light and beauty through your rich words and images, which you create so glowingly.
    Love
    Lynni

    • As always, Lynni, thanks for your grace-filled and beautiful words here. So sorry you are under the weather… I send His healing word to you (Ps 107:20)! I love that your mom said that about your eyes! I have a drawing I haven’t shared yet (though it is on my art blog, just haven’t spotlighted it yet in a way that gets people to it) – a woman sent a photo to me to draw, of her mom when she was a child in the 30’s . That child’s eyes are soooo luminous! I have to post it here soon…

      I’m so glad this blessed you. I had a wacky spam comment recently (obviously someone who really didn’t read my blog) saying that all my blog does is whine about repairs. Huh??? It just made me laugh. I don’t really get what those spammers are trying to accomplish. Anyway, I’m so glad to know these words and pictures uplift you! I never thought of George Banks, but I can see that! 🙂 Thanks, Lynn… and may His healing come speedily as the Word says…

  14. Wow! I just love this! Thank you!

  15. mechanicsfam a says:

    Thank you for sharing this. The sketches are lovely and the pieces you led out with fit the post so well to illustrate your point. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

