When Faith Declares “Only Believe”

“Autumn Splendiferous over the Village”  New England —  Autumn Glory

.

Fall is taking sooooo long to appear this year.

Where are all the trees that look like paint brushes dipped in overflowing paint standing upside down in the ground, their drips and drabs of color spilling all around…?

I’m opening my curtains each day, expectant for the colors of our days to turn deep and glowing, like a palette of Artist oils. Cerulean blue, yellow ochre, burnt umber, cadmium and crimson reds…

That otherworldly glory I can’t drink in enough.

The riotous plumes outlining country roads that wind alongside the river…

The crunching through neighborhood leaves under whispering maples and gold leaf canopies… Breathing in the way those leaves shimmer and pirouette down, down, down to others  skittering across the road… Catching the sound of the breeze singing like rippling accordion notes through chimes on someone’s porch…  Sharing a smile with a stranger power-walking by.  And thinking once again how this isn’t just a fall scene in a movie I only dreamed I was part of as a kid…but this once warm climate girl is really here, walking in a real live Autumn portrait…

A joyful memory unfurls like a movie trailer in my mind, so I view once again that scene imprinted on me from a few years past…  A fun, almost quirky truck with a bed of small children snail-driving by me through the Norman Rockwell style neighborhoods, looking like a makeshift hayride and reminding me of Dorothy’s munchkins as the kids fill the apple-crisp air with their piping, “Hi! Hi! Hi!”  A dozen little hands are frantically waving at me, as if the children simply must let me know they see me – making me laugh out loud and wave back just as energetically.  I can hear their cheering greeting as they round the next block, spot the red-jacketed man raking at the street corner turn to wave as well.

Sooo… Have the leaves misplaced their coats of many colors this season?  Will they yet transform  like a long awaited answer to prayer?

Only believe… are the words I hear in the tittering of birds in far off treetops, the breathy breeze rustling that message through the same…

When you can’t yet see, when everything seems to scream impossibility, when the hope-stealer is dancing his conning jig… hang on.  Such are actually the harbingers to seeing His Promised Glory about to break through…

And once again you know…

Like the mountains surround Jerusalem, the Lord surrounds His people. With passionate color-scapes.  With heart-song.  And…mmm…such glorious sparks.

©  Pam Depoyan

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 Overhearing what was being said, Jesus said to the synagogue official,

“Do not be afraid; only keep on believing [in Me and my power].”

Mark 5:36 (Amplified)

 

“Autumn Splendiferous over the Village,” now on display and available at my newest gallery in  my “Picture It in Pen and Ink” blog  —  Autumn Glory

(Please do not copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.  :)

Stop in and browse more Fall portraits at my art blog,  pamdepoyanblog.wordpress.com,  available for purchase at this link:  Autumn Glory

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Autumn Glow. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to When Faith Declares “Only Believe”

  1. lynndmorrissey says:

    So beautiful Pam. I’ve thought the same thing: Where is autumn???…. not just the color, but the cooler climes. Granted, in Missouri it’s never as riotously glorious as in New England, but this is like a dying summer. Green is turning to brown. Thank you for sharing the promise of belief, and that even in the midst of what seems like the death of fall, we can still keep hoping and believing. Lovely post!
    Love
    Lynni

    • Thanks, Lynn… Fall here can be pretty close to what I’ve seen in photos of New England, at least in some places. Maybe this warmer weather has “confused” the trees. Yes, God is speaking that to me a lot lately about trusting and hanging on when all things seem to be mocking it won’t happen. “Only believe” reverberates to me… 🙂 I guess in the meantime (as far as fall color goes) it is refreshing to pull out the past fall photos and memories!!

  2. Barbie says:

    Your writing is beautiful. I’m afraid we don’t have the glorious autumns you describe in my beautiful California, but I love looking at the colors unfold via my Facebook friends. Thanks for sharing!

    • I grew up out there too, Barbie and used to daydream about falls like these as a child, seeing them in movies and dreaming of them in books I read. I remember doing a class project where I sent away to Wisconsin for fall travel brochures of their spectacular colors. In California, even then fall was always my favorite season and I would just enjoy the spots of yellow trees and the leaves falling and floating on the breeze, even if just brown. Thanks!!

  3. elizabethfstewart says:

    This is so very lovely!

  4. Courtney says:

    I love this piece and the message shared. Beautiful!

    Autumn is my favorite time of year and I always love the changing colors of the trees and the cooler air. We are still waiting for some of that weather here too! Everything here is still green, green, green! We finally are having a bit of coolish air, but have gone about 130+ days of nothing but hot. So looking forward to Fall!

    • Thanks, Courtney! I know… so strange how it is still mostly green here too. I just drove out about 30 minutes north and they are just starting to get some color, but usually we are peaking around now. Fall has always been my favorite too, though I didn’t grow up where color was so dramatic as it is where I live now. Enjoy the color and refreshing air when it comes! 🙂 It has to eventually, right? 🙂

  5. Faye says:

    It’s such a joy to read your uplifting words and to see your marvelous art!

  6. We don’t get much change here but I do love the colors of fall.

  7. Beth says:

    What lovely work and such beautiful words. Fall was in the cool of the shadows in August–even on the hottest of those days. We are finally seeing a little color in the trees–but no frost so far. Only our famous Oregon rain. Have a great day and Happy Paint Party Friday.

  8. BethanyH says:

    Thanks for your post and your picture! I love the idea of how the seasons can remind us about God’s perfect timing in our own lives. 🙂 Your neighbor #73 from Holley Gerth’s blog.

  9. Your writing is beautiful and your picture!!! Wonderful the posting!
    happy weekend
    Elke

  10. Hi Pam! What a beautiful painting! Despite a mid-summer drought, here in Missouri our autumn colors have been beautiful this year. I love that God faithfully provides us a display of his glory every fall!

    • Those colors are a blessing indeed! So glad to hear you have had those beauties this season! It’s been a bit disappointing in MI – no where near as bright as in the photos I’ve taken over the last few years…but suddenly we are seeing more too! Thanks for sharing, Sarah… and happy to know you enjoy this drawing too! Happy fall and Thanksgiving on the way!

Leave a Reply

