Razzle-Bright Blessing

Digital Camera

Sunlight streams in across my mantel this afternoon,  moving gentle as fingers across piano keys, casting shadows sweet as unexpected melody.  It tiptoes those fingers in caress over the frost-tipped fern I placed in an ornament-red tin there today – a lovely find at the grocer’s, like a breath of a snowy evergreen, this unusual Christmasey plant I’ve never seen before.

It lights the face of my clock (which needs a battery and a wind, but livens to this touch of glory)…and somehow stirs my thoughts to angel wings I see in those laser cut-like shadow lights upon the wall behind…

Digital Camera

But it isn’t until I open the photo here that I really notice the wonders painted on the wall before my unseeing eyes…

The reflection of candles and candlewick tin lampshade, momentarily  wall-painted behind the angel, proclaims Joy to the world even as the angel banner below…

Fleeting whispers of merry, merry, merry…these light shadows that play on my walls, sing into my spirit.

Catch these simple wonders like candlelight in a jar… razzleberry dressing…

and I’m reminded of a sparkle song of old I’d love to share with you now… on this Tuesday before Christmas…

.

Won’t you pause to take a listen?

Once heard, you can’t stop humming this one!  🙂

.

“The Lord’s Bright Blessing” (Razzleberry Dressing) song

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Writing this post today as part of a Christmas List

to take note of wonders all round…

Image result for image of candle in a jar razzleberry dressing

©   Pam Depoyan

mantel photos: mine

candle in a jar – http://www.thevspotblog.com/2013/12/easy-last-minute-christmas-decorations.html

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Christmas List. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Razzle-Bright Blessing

  1. bcb0 says:

    Pam, you are such a gifted writer. Love this beautiful post. Isn’t it so true that writers are noticers? I said to my husband just the other evening that I loved how the sun created a shadow of leaves on the wall from my tree-shaped light on the dresser. Aren’t we so blessed to be called to notice and to write…the glory?! 🙂 Merry Christmas! 🙂

    • It IS a blessing to have that “noticing antenna,” isn’t it? I am always thanking Him that He makes me see the details, and I do think that the quality that makes me love to write and to draw has a great part in that, who He has made us to be! Love the thought of those leaves on your wall too! Thanks for sharing that, Bebo! It is a blessing we share! Wasn’t sure if this post would sound inconsequential… Have a beautiful Christmas!

  2. Gayl says:

    Thanks for sharing some of your Christmas joy, Pam! I love the photos. They are delightfully refreshing. Thanks for reminding me to notice the wonders that are all around. Blessings to you! Have a wonderful Christmas!

  3. debwilson2 says:

    Pam, I enjoyed your photos and the song. It was new to me and worth taking time to listen to. I love your blue and white plates too! Merry Christmas to you!

    • Thanks, Deb! I have been a blue and white plate lover for ages too. 🙂 That song is from a childhood favorite Christmas special from the 60’s — based on the Dickens Christmas Carol and Mr Magoo – it is really a charming version (I actually still enjoy it) and the lovely music written by some then Broadway composers. You can still get it on DVD… also lots on You Tube if you look under Magoo’s Christmas Carol. So glad you enjoyed that song. It is one that rings in me a lot. Another song from it is about the young scrooge feeling alone – very tender and always somehow comes to my mind. Pretty song. Merry Christmas to you too!

  4. Linda says:

    What a beautiful picture you paint with your words, and lovely photos to accompany them, too! Thank you so much for sharing this glimpse of Christmas with us.

  5. Barbie says:

    Beautiful song! Thank you for sharing at the Glimpses link up. Merry Christmas!

  6. Jann Olson says:

    I love the sunlight shining on your mantle Pam! Hope you had a wonderful Christmas. Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

  7. dawnklinge says:

    I feel so peaceful after reading your words…and the photos are beautiful. You are a wonderful writer. Yes, there are simple wonders all around. We just need to pause and notice. Thank you for this wonderful reminder and thank you for linking with Grace and Truth last week. I would love to feature this post tomorrow.

    • It always touches me how God speaks words we write, one to the other… so wonderful to hear how He made these write peace in you today! Thanks, Dawn – I’d love for you to feature it on your beautiful Grace and Truth. Blessings to you in the new year!

Leave a comment