Summer Waterfall

~ A Psalm of His Shalom ~

A lovely old madrigal is like a harpsichord playing around the edges of my mind this morning… singing a memory of lilting lyrics across the rivers of time…over and over

How gentle is the rain…that falls, softly on the meadow…

And like the heat-scorched lawns and flowers and trees outside my window, I find myself thirsting for a cool dip of… refresh

Because…all the what’s to do’s and what’s to becomes and oh I needs are like cracks in the earth across a dry desert swelter…

Finally…I sit amid blue and green and white… so like colors of sea and sky and wave-foam… around me.  Close my eyes to listen and receive Your cup of living water…

When I hear Your answering notes, O LORD…

The breathy sound of long-prayed-for rain takes up a light falling,

Opens a symphony softly outside my windows,

Sends a breeze, like tiny hammer to musical triangles, striking a faint ding!ding!ding!.. on the wind chimes outside,

And patters a rhythmic drumming against the tin lining of the well around my basement window.

I lean into the hymn of each lovely beat, enjoying this…peace.                         Holy Spirit breathed

Across the way, I notice towering leafy arms take up a swaying… above and beyond the homes… as if zumba-dancing to the melody growing stronger and stronger…

Dancing a smile upon my lips.

And the air in between my home and the others becomes a momentary gauzy curtain.

Replenishing…

Soaking in…

Renewing…

O,  like the parched and cracked ground, I need your rain, LORD.

Drink of My Word…. You say.

I open Your Book and listen to Your rain-drenched songs and suddenly I know

You are flowing….provision…as I speak these promise truths out

“I will bring (you) health and healing;

“I will heal My people

“And will let them enjoy abundant peace and security…

“I will rebuild them as they were before…”  (Jeremiah 33:6)

Your promises puddle inside me like raindrops on the drinking ground outside… soaking in faith… and a knowing with David, Your psalmist of psalmists

You surround me with songs of victory, breakthrough,

And showers of blessing…

Ten thousand may fall around us

But you uphold us with your right hand.

Economy… world outlooks… are nothing against you.

For as we seek You,

You set Your wisdom, anointing and favor on Your beloved… like a crown.

And satisfy us with every good thing.

Yes, O LORD, Eternal God,

Your words are sweet as honeycomb, cool as water, on my tongue and life to my body and soul.

©   Pam Depoyan

Is it sweltering where you are?

How is His rain replenishing you today?

Picture 

Linked with Faith Filled Friday

Grace Café,

and with Dawn @

for her weekly

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Psalm Seasons and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Summer Waterfall

  1. lolitavalle says:

    Oh, Pam!

    I am singing with you, drinking in answers to promises, like the “psalmist of psalmists.”

    I am gazing up to the heavens, with the drizzles on my face….. I celebrate the raindrops with you.

    How lovely Praises wreathe in you heart. Thank you for sharing your heart to us, so that we could join you in worship. I love the wonder of music playing as we do.

    With my love.

  2. Diane says:

    i am soaking in the poetic “music” to my soul. Even Lolita’s words…like dew refreshing the summer grass. Magical, Pam!

  3. Jean Wise says:

    Funny we both posted on about the weather this week – yours is so beautifully poetic. glad we connected!!

    • Yes, when I read your post yesterday it made me smile… Guess we have been sweltering so long we all had rain on our minds! 🙂 Thanks for your lovely words here. I occasionally try to write my own sort of “psalms”… I’m glad we’ve connected too! Fun thing about these link-ups, finding more of us who love to write!

  4. Joan says:

    Pam – this is beautiful! Last year, Texas experienced its worst drought in recorded history (we have been blessed with more rain this year). God used that time to teach me so much about Him – and yes, like the dry parched earth, my soul longed for Him. I pray that He sends rain to your area soon.

    Thank you for linking at the Grace Cafe this week.

    Blessings,
    Joan

    • Thank you, Joan! This has been a crazy weather year all around, hasn’t it? Only a couple of summers ago I had my windows open almost every day to lovely breezes… this year it is the a/c so much of the time. But I met a friend this morning early before church at a nearby lake and the breeze was heavenly. (It’s expected in the 90’s later on.) Thanks for your prayers… I pray the same for your area!

  5. Pam, this is such a lovely post that I feel refreshed and at peace just reading it. Thank you.

Leave a comment