Day 28: Like an amber rounded glass between my palms…

Jessie Wilcox Smith Autumn breeze | ART | PinterestI want to capture the inexplicable feel of Autumn glow the way this painting does… the blue and golden sky, the billow of the breeze through dress, the forget-me-knot flower in hand…

To hold and savor, like an amber rounded glass between my palms…

To listen to the ever moving rustle as melody now mixed with light shower patter…

To continue to tryst here under umbrella branches with You… for as long as its leafy crown lasts.

To lean in to Your whispers zinging in the very air — whilst You count each leaf now drifting by my window…

To let You paint me in blue and gold, russet and pumpkin and pomegranate…

To walk with You in the refreshing of the day…

To open up my arms to piles and piles of leafy gold from Your arms; then together, throw them as twice-blessed miracles up and out to bless the world…

I want to hear Your laughter, rich and full and warm, ripple Autumn radiance across the sky  like reflection on water…and watch it transform us all in Your amber, Lamplighter glow…

O… I want to capture and hold Autumn’s tint on the very air, like fireflies in a jar…

Though each falling, drifting leaf, releasing in its time, is on the move…

In this moment, it is a golden Monarch butterfly, resting its stain glass glory upon my palms.

I look up from its butter-winged beauty and meet the glisten in Your eyes too.

And that… the knowing You hold it close and treasure too… touches and takes hold inside me,  most of all.

Digital Camera

© Pam Depoyan

  • photo, mine
  • Autumn girl, Jessie W. Smith painting

scan0006  I encourage you to check out the many beautiful, heartwarming or just plain fun October blog series’ participating under a slurry of topic umbrellas at write31days.com

This is day 28 of my 31-day fall series – WOOHOO!!!!!

Almost to the finish line!

It’s been fun, but sometimes exhausting and I’m looking forward to new themes ahead…

To follow this series, it’s important to begin here, A Prequel Post to the Annual Autumn 31 Days Linkup   and then click here for new posts each day:  An Autumn Harvest of our Words

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in An Autumn Harvest of our Words. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 28: Like an amber rounded glass between my palms…

  1. lynndmorrissey says:

    So gorgeous, Pam…the words, the print, the photos, the love of God and His awesome autumn glow. It’s so beautiful outside my windows now. As I’d told you, we don’t have a lot of reds, but the golds and greens, oranges and russets are still stunning. And I LOVE monarchs, and described them similarly once in a story I wrote once about raising a Monarch, named Sunrise, with my then younger daughter Sheridan. If you never raised one, it’s worth doing. It speaks resurrection in abundance.

    Love you, my poetic autumn sister in Christ.
    Lynn

    • I love the red ones too, but they do seem more rare. Orange, yellow are the brightest ones around here. Can’t get enough of the beauty, and there’s still a lot around here that hasn’t turned yet. Unusual to be so late.

      No, never raised a butterfly. I actually don’t really like to have them on me, like at those butterfly farms, but I can appreciate their beauty. Yes, resurrection in abundance. 🙂 Thanks for sharing, Lynn!

  2. lynndmorrissey says:

    You know…I’ve heard that before. I pray for them to land on me! And they do on Mike all the time–lucky him. Actually, when you house a chrysalis, and it cracks, the butterfly flies away. It’s really quite amazing to behold. they don’t stay around to play. 🙂

    • We have a gardens place here that has an annual butterfly event where they raise them, show them come out of the chrysalis and then they are flying all over the indoor heated room, landing on people etc. My old job used to sponsor them, so I was involved a lot. They are beautiful! I think they would land on you a lot there! 🙂

Leave a comment