Day 1: Celebrating…This Shining Season Called Fall

The falling leaves
drift by my window…
the autumn leaves
of red and gold…   

                 – Johnny Mercer


Autumn - Woman Playing With Leaves In The Forest

 

God is my Art Prize and this is his shining season.

From his hand comes hue-splashed radiance.  Shimmering in light.  Glowing through darkness.  Here, there, everywhere.

With Anne Shirley, I sing, “I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers!” *

Like Anne, I find myself wanting to hug it close, twirl beneath its riotous glory and breathe it in like a prayer.

And in her words, I declare with wonder,      “I feel as if I had opened a book and found roses of yesterday, sweet and fragrant, between it’s leaves...**

As I anticipate this my most favorite month of the year, I know already there are storm clouds on the horizon.  But I remember…somehow…the crimsons and gold of Autumn glow more vibrantly under dark skies.  Wondrously, mysteriously, they stay deeply imprinted on my vision, even when I close my eyes.  They glow orange and persimmon and ochre through my windows, casting their warmth on the inside walls of my home.  Like seeing my world through Autumn-colored glasses.  And just when I don’t think it can possibly break through the rain, sunlight bursts out to light them on fire with stunning beauty to steal breath away.

image photo : Autumn leavesThis season I want to write word-splashes of colors here for you…  some I see shining through lives around me.   Others I come upon as the Master Artist puts on his most resplendent show…  To stir up hope like piles of golden-red leaves and toss it up and out over us all.  Because there is just something so heart-melting to me about shimmering leaves dancing down, like bits of golden gifts showering all around…  And because hope is something we can never get enough of… like a steaming bowl of soup on a cold day.  (Speaking of that, I may even include a few heart-warming soup recipes I love…)  Listening to my favorite singer crooning Autumn Leaves today, I’m oh-so-ready for the color tour to begin!  How about you?

 

* Anne of Green Gables, L.M. Montgomery                                                                                                                                  ** Anne of the Island, L.M. Montgomery

image photo : Autumn play  As I write these posts in celebration of fall, I’m linking up with Melissa Michaels at her beautiful inspired room.net where she has many warm and lovely ideas to make your home fall-cozy  – see her  welcome page for31 inspired days, 
along with the rest of the “31-dayers” who are also sharing various month-long inspirations!

I’ll tag these stories under the category of “Autumn Leaves.”   Let us open this seasonal book together to find those “roses” tucked within their leaves…

When I do… won’t you share  a bit of your “fall roses” along the way…tell me if and why Fall brings hope to you?  I’d love to hear from more of you… 

image photo : Autumn leaves© Pam Depoyan
Just fyi…Note about my metaphor of God as my Art Prize:  There is an annual community event  called ArtPrize.®   Designed as a very different international art competition, the goal is for the general public and artists to collide, exchange ideas and come away changed.  Hmm… a goal not unlike that of my posts about this beautiful season… 🙂

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Autumn Leaves and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 1: Celebrating…This Shining Season Called Fall

  1. Diane says:

    i love your post and photos – especially God as your Art Prize!

  2. Very inspiring page about fall season, I was born on November 22nd…..I find this month as the sweetest of all months.”Blessed are they who see beautiful things in humble places where other people see nothing- Pissarro. Thank you for the Apples of Gold.

  3. Thanks for stopping by, Diotima and for your kind words! Happy birthday! 🙂

  4. lolita says:

    I am at the threshold of another Fall to come in October. Anyway, nice to be reading back Fall posts here.

    Your word picture will never grow old. Thanks.

Leave a comment