Could you use a little ‘laughter in your mouth’ today?

Music lubricates the spirit!  ~ L. Mink

I will praise the Lord no matter what happens. I will constantly speak of his glories and grace. I will boast of all his kindness to me. Let all who are discouraged take heart. Let us praise the Lord together and exalt his name.

~ Psalm 34 :1 [Living Bible]

I was talking with a blogging friend yesterday, reminiscing about a fun old praise song we used to sing in college prayer meetings… in a time when the Holy Spirit was truly moving.  A childlike song full of life…  One you can’t sing without “schottische-ing” your heart around the room.   She didn’t recall the song, so I googled   You Tube on the off chance of finding it.  Tons of entries by the same name, but modern and completely different.

Look under children’s songs, something nudged.  I did… and there was the most joy-heartening clip that made laughter bubble over in me.  I hadn’t known this was actually a child’s song of praise we college kids were singing!  (Believe me, we never punctuated our praise with these hand motions!  🙂 )

My friend emailed me back after watching, saying… “My daughter came by, exclaiming ‘Wha-at ARE you listening to, Mom?!’  Then she started giggling herself.”

It’s contagious.  It gets into your heart and mouth until you find it slipping out here, there and everywhere during your day!  So many times I am trying to remember the most beautiful songs of praise we sang back then.  I long to sing them in my prayer times.  But they elude me… I only get bits and pieces floating like cloud strings in the sky.  But it’s these simple, playful songs that God does bring rippling back to me like jump rope songs of joy.  I think because He is our Father who loves for his children to kick off their grown up shoes and just frolic in His light and joy with Him.  Because it is in such lighthearted but deeply rich Truth of Scripture songs that He is able to take our mourning and wailing and sorrow and turn it into joy and dancing!  (And even inspire you to make up your own verses, such as… the Glory of the Lord is rising on me… )

Won’t you join me in kicking off those heavy-careworn shoes a moment, take our Father’s hands and sing this one?  One difference I noticed is a verse we always sang as “He fills my mouth with laughter… ah…ha ha ha ha…”  The kids here just let the laughter flow…  I guarantee it will put laughter in your mouth – and circle the Lord’s heart with joy as He rings yours:  🙂  Just click here and sing:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h2ourQYqOyU

You did it: you changed wild lament
    into whirling dance;
You ripped off my black mourning band
    and decked me with wildflowers.
I’m about to burst with song;
    I can’t keep quiet about you.
God, my God,
    I can’t thank you enough.

~Psalm 30: 11-12 [The Message]

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

As I’m singing this today, here are some verses He is putting in my mouth… I’d love to hear some of yours!  🙂

I sing glory halleluia to your NAME (3x)… The joy of the Lord is my strength

The BLESSING of the Lord is moving on me (3x)

The BLESSING  of the Lord is healing me (3x)

The GLORY of the Lord RISES favor on me (3x)

O Lord make your LIGHT to shine through me (3x)

I praise your NAME forever, ALLELUIA (3x)

©  Pam Depoyan

Sharing with:   

Unite @Rich Faith Rising 

 Monday Praises

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in One Ribbon at a Time and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Could you use a little ‘laughter in your mouth’ today?

  1. ah … those photos .. enchanting, motivating, a reminder that laughter can truly be the best medicine! Have a great one, Pam!

    :-}

  2. Lisa says:

    Praise can turn our day around! Thanks for this uplifting post!

  3. laura says:

    Thank you for the smiles today, Pam! You are right, it is contagious. I’m so grateful for you and the lovely way you see.

  4. Jill says:

    Thanks for sharing this motivating post!

    Thank you for stopping by the Thoughtful Spot Weekly Blog Hop this week. We hope to see you drop by our neck of the woods next week!

Leave a comment